We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for a business trip”
Review of Imola Hotel Platan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imola Hotel Platan
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Certificate of Excellence
Anonyme Island, Seychelles
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Good enough for a business trip”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I spend one night for a visit in the region, it seems a good opportunity. The room was OK with a balcony overlooking the city bath and the green area, nice to drink a beer in the sunset with some fresh air.
The hotel was nearly empty and so I used the wellness area with some jacuzzi and salt pool. I suppose when the house is full than the spa area is really too small and you can feel it.. But for me alone(!) it was quite ok.
I have to book (!!!??) with half board and this can be a problem when you arrive by afternoon and you are hungry.. The dinner menu is served only from 18.00 h, so you have to negotiate with the waiters and try to get something before 18.00h.
They fixed and the chef was nice and helpful coming out from the kitchen and offer me a good meal .A positive think...
The bar is small but they have some drinkable wines from the region.
A garage is available without extra charge .
Breakfast was poor and I have to wait 20 min. for a fresh bread and some eggs... No one else in the restaurant...
One in once, it is a good opportunity for a short break over the night.

Room Tip: Only in the west wing ( balcony over the city bath ) !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    22
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
8
72
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent two days here with my girlfriend in June and after visiting many places in Hungary, I can tell you that this is one of the best hotels in Hungary. Not cheap but worth every Forint if you want to relax...

The hotel doesn't allow children under 14 (yesssss!!!) so there is no kid running around and screaming at the pool area when you want to relax. The saunas are many and wonderful. The staff is great, food at the restaurant is good. I had one of the best massages here in a decade and the town is really worth visiting.

Tried many places in Hungary but this one is in the top 3 in my view... If you find anything better.. PLEASE let me know!!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms looking at the public bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Imola Platan for 2 nights in August 2013. The hotel has been recently opened and everything has been completed to a very high and most tasteful standard. The room we were given was enormous, with a separate sitting room and large terrace. Breakfast was good and the evening meal (also included in our package) was excellent, with a really wide range of choices and presented superbly. The spa area is extensive and has a full range of pools and saunas/ steam rooms/jacuzzis. Guests also have free access to the adjoining water park area - although staff were slow to communicate this even when asked. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel as I suspect it will become far more expensive once it becomes known and builds up a client base.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is my second trip to Eger and decided to give another hotel a try. Based on the pictures I found on trip advisor, my husband and I decided to stay at Imola Platan. The hotel is still brand new looking (opened Dec 2012) very clean, and modern. Our hotel stay included dinner and breakfast, which were both great. We were both surprised to receive two coupons for 5000 ft off a massage upon check-in. Even though we did not have time to use the wellness facilities, we were sorry we did not. I would recommend this hotel as it is walking distance to Dobo Ter and the train station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mollyjane82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel had only been open some three months and so the quality of the surroundings was unspoilt, the style of the hotel is fresh & modern and has excellent facilities.
Everywhere was very clean and the staff attentive
The only compliant is a small one and one we did raise during the visit and that is due to the lack of clear signs to the outside of the hotel, the name of the hotel is perched up high above a wing and not obvious to anyone approaching and so it's not clear as to whether you're at the right place or not and anyone trying to find it blind would not be helped by this.
A minor criticism and one that didn't detract from the visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eger hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eger & Park
Hotel Eger & Park
#3 of 22 in Eger
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Senator House Hotel
Senator House Hotel
#2 of 22 in Eger
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imola Hotel Udvarhaz
Imola Hotel Udvarhaz
#4 of 22 in Eger
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Kodmon
Hotel Kodmon
#5 of 22 in Eger
31 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Korona
Hotel Korona
#12 of 22 in Eger
86 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Romantik
Hotel Romantik
#7 of 22 in Eger
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imola Hotel Platan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imola Hotel Platan

Property: Imola Hotel Platan
Address: Csakany u. 7, Eger 3300, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Eger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imola Hotel Platan 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotel.de, HRS, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Imola Hotel Platan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing