We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large hotel, nice rooms, not so happy with the service and food.”
Review of Hotel Eger & Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Eger & Park
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here as a group of ten, on business. The hotel itself is impressive and the breakfast rooms particularly so. The food was OK but evening meals not too special and alas the service from one or two employees convinced us to take our money elsewhere when we returned a year later. [Asking for money for the drinks machine late at night got a yes for one drink but a no for two; with a medical condition that often leaves me thirsty at night, the pettiness of the manager concerned left me very unimpressed, given that the bar was closed and the mini bar didn't have any suitable drinks. His manner lost his employer our business.]

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AvonbourneCECCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 208 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had a room with view to the north and we had nice panoramic view of the city. This hotel has its swimming pool and it was an aquaaerobic once! Hungarian food fits me well and I enjoy it! The hotel is not cheap but you get a high standard of service.
This hotel is situated very close to historic center and that was the advantage too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piotr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is split up in the 4* Eger Park and the 3* Eger. We stayed in the Eger part. I had a single room (456) which had a very small bathroom. The sink was loose and hanging apart from the wall. The shower cabine was only 50 or 60 cm wide. There was no place to stand in front of the sink. Very terrible. The other single rooms in the hallway had more extended bathrooms. So just be sure not to get the rooms ending with 56 as they have the playmobil bathooms.
Unfortunately the reception deks was not very polite when I mentioned tje unacceptable bathroom the other morning. They just smiled and said "yes it is very small".
The hotel is located near the city centre and that was nice for a walk into town.

Room Tip: Don't get the rooms ending 56 as they are next to the stairways and therefore have extremely sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilena73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I was there 2 night in Park Hotel, our room was situated in the 4 star area. We booked a delux room, it was the best room where I have been. The room was huge clean. There was a jacuzzi and infra sauna in the room. The breakfast was good, there was a wide range of food. Staff was help full. Eger is so beautiful city, the castle and the streets are friendly. There were many good restaurants. We visited the cellar of Abbey, when we were in Eger, there was a nights of Leánykák, we tasted a lot of very good wines.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PR79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I was again in eger, this time for 1 night. Biggest hotel in town, but nothing special. The food was excellent, the spa was good. There was a konference at hotel, and a lot of people was running around loud, like no control.
Staff was like nothing special. I saw a preety lady in the back room, but in reception an old fart with glasses was very unhappy for something, and because ot that he was unpleasant with me either.
Otherwise is a good looking exclusive place... but not for a couple looking for some romantik rest.

Room Tip: We were in 3 star superior douberoom. Clean and good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louie_Buks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed for a week on the Eger Park hotel, on the older building that is supposed to be a higher star rating. The rooms very old but well kept. AC would work well. Bathroom was renovated and decent with plenty of hot water. I had breakfast and dinner a few days, the food was pretty good and the restaurant area was very nice. It is a basic hotel, didn’t have anything extra that I’d use although they had a small spa. The rooms definitively need some sort of update. I went back to Eger 8 months later but didn’t stay at the Park, although I regret my decision.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manoel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We were on a three-week tour of Central Europe with Adventures Abroad and stayed here two nights. The location is excellent, the hotel is a 2 minute walk from the large park and an easy walk into the center of town. The breakfast buffet was perfectly adequate. The beds were disgusting! The mattress covers didn't fit over the mattress and neither did the bottom sheet and viewing a dirty mattress was most unpleasant. The staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eger
0.3 mi away
Imola Hotel Platan
Imola Hotel Platan
#2 of 22 in Eger
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Senator House Hotel
Senator House Hotel
#1 of 22 in Eger
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Korona Eger
Hotel Korona Eger
#10 of 22 in Eger
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Flora
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Volgy
Hotel Villa Volgy
#8 of 22 in Eger
156 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bambara Hotel
Bambara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Felsotarkany
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eger & Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eger & Park

Address: Szalloda utca 1-3, Eger 3300, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Eger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Price Range: $103 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eger & Park 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Eger & Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing