We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very cute hotel”
Review of Hotel Eger & Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Eger & Park
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very cute hotel”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at 4*. We enjoyed very much time there; very clean, very nice personnel; breakfast and dinner were good. The wellness center was also nice, clean but crowded as there was a short holiday in all hungary and they were many tourists, still there was room for everybody. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: we took a 4* room at the last floor (a mansarde)...veery quiet and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elena v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    73
    36
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
52
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This year was the third when we returned to Eger and stayed in the 3* part of the hotel. During the check in the front office did not find our reservation in the system (the reservation was done via booking.com) just from the next day. Fortunately they had vacant rooms so there was no problem at all.
If you have a chance ask a room heading for the garden; the scenery is wonderful. The room is relatively small but adequate for 3*. It is very clean and confortable.
We always pay for breakfast only because you can eat dinner in the city centre (5 min. walk) and it is cheaper and a la carte. The breakfast is very good, the coffee is not but you can drink one in the drink bar which is much better.
The only problem was not with the hotel but with the guests. There were many children (we were there during the autumn holiday) and sometimes they are too noisy and they can make even a big place to be crowded by running around. The wellness management does not do anything when they are jumping into the pool (which is 1,5m deep only, so it is dangerous as well) or splashing each other which is forbidden at all and also written out at the entrance. It is very disturbing when you want to relax.
All in all I suggest this hotel to everyone who wants make a short stay in Eger for a reasonable price.
If you are there go to Szilvásvárad, not so far from Eger, and enjoy the nature!

Room Tip: Rooms heading for the garden have very nice view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This hotel is situated in a relatively quiet area just outside the town centre (within 5 minutes walk) and is also close to the famous outdoor spa. We stayed in the 3 star part of the hotel and the rooms were adequate, although there were no tea or coffee making facilities. Our en-suite bathroom had no separate shower, just a shower attachment as part of the the bath plugs - not ideal. The breakfast/dining room is situated in the old part of the hotel (the 4 star part) and it is a trek from one end to the other! I wish we had paid extra and stayed in the 4 star part! The breakfasts themselves are fairly standard fare; the cooked breakfast options are not great, similar to many continental restaurants. The hotel does seem a bit short-staffed in some areas and the service is not the best I have experienced. However, the hotel and its rooms are very clean and tidy and I recommend it for a short stay in Eger.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor at the rear of the hotel for views across parks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The hotel is in the center of the city, you can walk to the castle in 10 minutes.
The wellness area is nice.
We had breakfast and dinner in the hotel and were very satisfied with the quality and selection of the buffet.

Room Tip: Wireless internet didn't work in our room, what was the furtheress from the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FresiaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Very welcoming & efficient reception staff and the room was of a good standard. There was a problem with the hot water in the whole hotel one morning but that was dealt with promptly. The Eger and the Park hotel are a strange melange as they share dining and reception but the rooms (and no doubt prices) are superior in the Park hotel. The only disadvantage of this is that the rooms in the Park are a considerable distance from reception and in our case involved taking two different lifts. For a hotel so close to the centre of town it was a great advantrage to have free parking. We didn't dine there in the evening but the choices for breakfast were vast.

Room Tip: Opt for the Park Hotel as our brief glimpse of an Eger Hotel room suggested they were a litle moire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infront of a computer
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

So we were a couple staying over at the Park and Eger hotel. We picked the more expensive and sweeter Park part (the hotel is divided up into one 4 and one 3 star part). The room was pretty quiet and we had a nice balcony that I imagine would be amazing during the summer as it was pointing out over the eating and drinking terass. There's no flat screen tv in the room though but the older usual tvs, if you came to watch tv. The bathroom is perfectly fine. Not close to being as rubbish as most average hotels might be.

The hotel is located in the centrum of the town and is really looking nice from when you enter it. There's the staff helping you with most questions and you may stroll around watching their selected wines from local producers such as Tibor Gál, and you may also buy the wine straight from the desk.

The food they offer is of pretty high standards for being a hotel buffe. We ate until we almost fainted both nights, and we had promised ourself to not over eat the second time... but what the hell can you do when they serve cordon bleu :) The drinks are not included during the meal, but don't worry about the prices - they are harmless and won't be half as bad as having a pint or whatever (cost is about 3 euro for a glass of whine)

The pool is not exactly big compared to what the usual baths in hungary are, but if you are there during the summer you can might as well go to the outdoor place and have a better experiense. The pool they got in the hotel covers for the off season people.
One thing that buggered us alot during our staying was the constant need of booking. You go to a wellness hotel and expect to get treatments as you wish, since it's what you're paying for. But think again. Youll have to book everything, and it's not unusual to have to wait up to the following day. The last morning I didn't even bother asking for a massage and instead tried to go for their machines that also offers massage... Do you think I was surprised to find out you also have to book that machine... and to learn it was already booked for the morning? Absolutely ridiculous.

Apart from that we were pretty pleased with our staying.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NokaJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights with a year old baby in the new 3-star part of the hotel (Eger). We requested a non-smoking room and got a stinking smoking room. We haven't ever been in a smaller room - there was absolutely no space to put or stuff, we even had problems opening our luggage. There were ants in the room. Sleeping was problematic too - we had to complain every night because our room was next to the rooms of a german teenager water polo team who were drunk every night and made an awful lot of noise until late night. The rooms are in a long hallway, so expect everyone going to the breakfast and the dinner, or sitting just in front of your room (believe it or not they have sitting areas where people chat until late night just in front of the rooms) to disturb you. The breakfast is ok, the dinner is not worth the price at all - go downtown and get a nice dinner for half the price. The relaxing area with 1 pool and 2 jakuzzis is fine, but very crowded if you don't go there around noon.

Some people may not care about the tiny size of the room or about people shouting and smoking in front of their rooms or the crowded relaxing area, but that is definitely not our case, for which we would not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LkprTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eger hotels
0.3 mi away
Imola Hotel Platan
Imola Hotel Platan
#1 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Senator House Hotel
Senator House Hotel
#2 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Romantik
Hotel Romantik
#7 of 22 in Eger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kodmon
Hotel Kodmon
#5 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Korona
Hotel Korona
#9 of 22 in Eger
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imola Hotel Udvarhaz
Imola Hotel Udvarhaz
#4 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eger & Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eger & Park

Property: Hotel Eger & Park
Address: Szalloda utca 1-3, Eger 3300, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Eger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eger & Park 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Eger & Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing