We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Senator House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprising Jewel”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I was a little bit nervous about my trip outside of the comfort zone of Budapest but could not have had a better time. The Hotel great you with a reception full of old hungarian charm and memorabilia. As you go upstairs the theme continues. The room however was contemporary, large and uncluttered with a good size bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the only disturbance was the early start by the workmen currently renovating the town square. But then again the central location was the attraction and when complete the work should look good from the window. The restaurant was good with quality food for dinner and breakfast. Our only issue was the quality of a glass of rose wine and the reluctance to replace it when the issue was raised with the waiter. For a quality wine region they should ensure they are happy with their selections. Happy to recommend and would stay again if heading that way again.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben_Townsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    56
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
101
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were welcomed warmly. The gentleman at reception spoke a small amount of English, lucky that my husband speaks Hungarian.
check in was easy, we were then taken across the road to their new rooms which were clean and fresh. Free wifi worked very well.
Bathroom was spacious and the water pressure from the shower amazing.

Eger is going through revitalisation at this moment from money from the EU so many areas are under construction. But dont let that put you off as there are many amazing things to see.
The location of the hotel is great. You are close to all the main attractions.

The hotel had free breakfast and also a restaurant for dinner and lunch.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonjoymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hungary
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We were here only for 2 nights, but this short period was more than enough to realize why this charmy little hotel is on the top of Eger's list.

Cordial welcome, kindly and helpful owners, center-located with parking, warmly baroque-style equipment, beautiful lobby.

Our room was large, direct view to the main square and to a little street, minibar, cable-tv, everything what you can get from a ***hotel.

Breakfast was not so wide, but delicious: hams, cheese, fried egg or omlette, fresh patry, yoghurt, fruits, home made jams, tea, coffe, water, orange juice. It's perfect in the little breakfast-room all around with coloured pictures.

Dinner was superb, we tried the duck breast carpaccio, home made salamis, smoked salmon with beetroot for starters, then catfish stew with pasta, calf stew with gnocchi, spaghetti with ruccola & mozzarella, chicken breastbwith potato puree - all of them was very good. We drank only from the house's wine named Egri Lányka which was from a local winery, and that was ok too.

So i recommend this hotel for everybody who would like feel themselves good in Eger.



Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lbl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Located in the center of Eger, this hotel was a real surprise. I was with my parents, and we received a very large two rooms suit. The rooms were clean and with plenty of light. Breakfast was very charming and fulfilling. After reading on Trip Advisor that the hotel restaurant is recommended, we had dinner there and enjoyed ourselves very much.
Most importantly, the staff was very welcoming and kind.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and would defiantly book there on my next visit to Eger.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taliste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Very nice small hotel with the most friendly staff - i guess it was the owner, but he was very nice and helpful. We went by car and you can park for free very close to the hotel. Nice and clean rooms. Breakfast is good and there is what you need. The best thing is the location - just in front of the Castle and at the square. The entrance hall is full of old stuff and very warm and cosy. There is no lift but only a few levels. The beds or our bed was a bit too soft but i guess its personal how you like it.I would definetely go back anytime!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BudaJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We did not stay at the Senator Haz (it was full) but fortunately discovered the restaurant early in our stay in Eger, where we had gone for the world underwater hockey championships. The food was fabulous and the service very efficient, friendly and helpful. We ate through the menu over 4-5 days and every dish was a winner. Australian team members organised a dinner there and had just as good an experience. I am recommending anyone planning a visit to Budapest to travel 140km further to take in Eger, which is a charming town in itself but even more of a destination with a restaurant of the quality of Senator Haz.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob242013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I only stayed here for two nights at the end of August but this was time enough to enjoy the hospitality of my hosts and their delicious food as well.

The hotel is very centrally located, bang on the square facing towards the statue of Dobó István (the burly chap who held off the turks in the 16th century). In the evenings there are usually musicians playing in the square and you do catch the odd strain of tango music wafting upwards through your olde worlde window shutters. However, the music didn't bother me as I could shut the windows and turn on the air con.

My room was clean and had everything I needed. It wasn't gigantic but I expected that from a building that is almost 300 years old. It really is a charming little place and well worth staying in. Do note that there is no lift so try and get a room on the first floor (second floor for our American cousins) if you are no friend to heavy lifting and have poor upper body strength (like me).

The staff were all very friendly but Tamás in particular stood out for me (not least because he's around 6' 5"). He was very helpful and had lots of handy suggestions for places to visit and dishes to try. His English is as impeccable as my hungarian is terrible (he used to live in the UK).

Finally, the restaurant is top notch and has lots of quality hungarian specialities. I'd recommend the mangalica pork if it's on the menu when you get there - melt-in-your-mouth meaty heaven it was.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FPTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eger hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eger & Park
Hotel Eger & Park
#3 of 22 in Eger
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Romantik
Hotel Romantik
#7 of 22 in Eger
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Korona
Hotel Korona
#11 of 22 in Eger
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imola Hotel Udvarhaz
Imola Hotel Udvarhaz
#4 of 22 in Eger
60 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kodmon
Hotel Kodmon
#5 of 22 in Eger
30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Flora
Hunguest Hotel Flora
#8 of 22 in Eger
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator House Hotel

Property: Senator House Hotel
Address: Dobo Istvan ter 11, Eger 3300, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Eger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senator House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Senator House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Eger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing