We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Reviews are Right On!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Senator House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Senator House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Certificate of Excellence
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
285 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“The Reviews are Right On!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Sometimes when you read great reviews the experience never quite lives up, Not the case with Senator Haz in Eger. This was really a wonderful place to spend a few days. The hospitality of the owners and staff was exceptional. The restaurant was fun with good food. The room was spacious and despite the fact that we were right over the square, we never were bothered by noise.

Room Tip: I suppose you could ask for a room not facing the main square. We were nervous when we first looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank springstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    53
    14
    0
    2
See reviews for
25
91
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a well run, charming European countryside hotel. Rooms were smallish, clean, but with nice, modern bathrooms. No elevator here, but also no big tour groups. Eger's castle is a sacred Hungarian site, their "Alamo" where a small group of warriors and townspeople held off thousands of seiging Turks. The castle is the big site, followed by the facade of the church in Dobo Square, and the Lyceum library. We spent one night, sampled the local Hungarian wines, esp. Tokai, and ate twice at the Senator Haz's restaurant (quite good and well priced as compared to Budapest).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DougViages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in May with a group of wine loving friends and after searching a bit due to one-ways and confusing GPS signals, found the hotel which is situated right in the main square, within walking distance of most of the sights of Eger. The olde-world charm of hotel should not be misleading, it works like a charm! Friendly staff coping with all of us at the same time, a great seating area outside where you can watch the passing parade, big rooms (we had a back facing one which is quieter), one of the best breakfasts we had in Hungary - and we were so sad we only stayed one night.

Great hotel!

Room Tip: Overlooking the front of the hotel is great if you don't mind a bit of noise from street revell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownCobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our family of 5 (with 3 adult children) stayed in the lovely spacious pensione in the back. The rooms were spotlessly clean, charming and very convenient. We ate at the hotel restaurant and enjoyed our first meal so much, that we came back a second time. The generous breakfast was a great start to the day. Thank you for your helpful service and great accommodations!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom_Daughter32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eger
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The place was a good place to stay at, although the restaurant seems to have a good cook, but the serving was too slow. This can be improved and is often due to organization. The staff was helpful to guide to the secure parking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Lennart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our group of 14 arrived late afternoon and were greeted by the friendly manager and staff. The room was clean and had a view over the town square. The street life outside the hotel adds to the caracter. I highly recommend this hotel and hope to return in future to stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeHugoBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I heartily recommend Senator Haz. The staff was extraordinarily accommodating to our party of five, finding four of us an "apartment" in the pensione in the back - very quiet, very private. Our van found space in the locked parking lot behind the hotel. Andras cooks a mean ham and eggs, and all the bread and rolls were fresh every morning. I had to leave by 6am, and knocked on the door - coffee was ready for my ride to Budapest airport, which was arranged for me with only two days notice. The wine shop right across the street is well stocked, and we were provided a bucket of ice (with linen napkin) to chill our Balatan bottles of dry white wonderfulness.

Room Tip: For more modern rooms, ask for the pensione in the back, off the main cobblestone square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank financegalsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eger hotels
0.5 mi away
Imola Hotel Platan
Imola Hotel Platan
#1 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Romantik
Hotel Romantik
#6 of 22 in Eger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eger & Park
Hotel Eger & Park
#3 of 22 in Eger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Imola Udvarhaz Hotel
Imola Udvarhaz Hotel
#4 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kodmon
Hotel Kodmon
#5 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Flora
Hunguest Hotel Flora
#12 of 22 in Eger
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator House Hotel

Property: Senator House Hotel
Address: Dobo Istvan ter 11, Eger 3300, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Eger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senator House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Senator House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Eger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing