We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in debrecen”
Review of Hotel Lycium

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lycium
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Debrecen
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Breakfast is an amzing display with everything you could want for breakfast from eggs, mushrooms and tomatoes, to Hungarian meats and cheeses, cereal (4 types) yoghurt and coffee with 20 different teas.
Front staff help ful but some have limited English.
Best people work att he Wellness centre where Evette rules with a warm smile and a fresh towell.
a 16m pool and an eliptical trainer and treadmill ,together with sauna and varying ,not too warm, tubs.
BUT...if you stay on a saturday night they do have weddings, twice while we were there and music can be loud till 2am.
Supper is available as a smorgsbord but we didn't eat it. We preferred to sample the many places that there are to eat , of which, the IKON is by far the smartest and best. number 1 Bisto is good too, as is the Belgian restaurant.
the best time to enjoy the roof-top wellness is between 7 and 8am and between 5 and 7pm

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chedoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 106 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

My wife and I have a home in Debrecen and friends were coming to Hungary and staying at the Lycium. At the last minute, our hot water went so we stayed at the Lycium with them before we all started our vacation. The hotel is in great location just near the church and by the center of town. There is only one other hotel in the city with all the ammenities and it is too far to walk to town. The breakfast buffet is really well done. This is a newer hotel so the A/C is certainly American style. Hertz rental is in the lobby which is a plus. The lobby is also set up nice just to relax and drink. My only complaint is the towels are not soft (hard and rough) and my friends needed an American converter and the front desk did not have any. Debrecen is becoming a big city for business, Hungary's second biggest city, you must have converters. Overall this is great value and a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveljunkies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and first was amazed by the interieur, the room and also location. But over time some deficiencies became obvious. The staff was mostly friendly, but some problems with English even on the front desk. Breakfest starts at 7 which is already rather late, but we actually had to wait another 10 minutes before the door opens. Breakfest itselfs was very good with only minor issues.
Unfortunatly I never mad it to the Spa which I think is quite impressive. That could have been the 5th star in my rating.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Remnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Sort of mixed feelings about this hotel. The important things first:

Nice hotel, beautifully furnished with relatively spacious rooms in a new conference center right in the middle of town. I would agree with a previous reviewer that I suspect it would be difficult to do better in Debrecen, particularly in regard to location and overall amenities. Debrecen seems to be a city in transition with a lot of new construction amidst an urban landscape that reflects the last 100 years of history, for all that entails!

Seems the Lycium is really striving to achieve five-star standards, but this was all a little hit and miss. Even simple tasks like picking up stored luggage, or settling the bill at checkout took an inordinate amount of time. Other little quirky thinks like an extra electronic-key controlled door upon stepping off the elevator seemed a bit overkill given that Debrecen is not exactly New York or London. Nothing unpleasant; just all feeling a little quirky throughout my stay.

Breakfast was included in my room rate, and it was a nice spread. The dining room is quite large with dark wood-stained floors and several steps going down into the main dining area. I was really paying attention, and STILL nearly fell down the steps with my hands loaded with breakfast dishes. Curious... that's all.

I did take a peek at the gym (very limited hours) on the top floor, and indeed, it is a pretty nice place to soak for a while as you gaze out big plate glass windows. (Don't know that the view is amazing, but there definitely IS one!) An attendant works a station near the door, which had I used the gym, I think I would have felt a bit monitored. Again, all part of the ambiance.

So it's a good, safe, clean place to stay, and at least during off season - reasonably priced. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, but I think I would still find it all to be a little surreal.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDCE-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Great location and a decent hotel. They have a good breakfast, nice clean rooms, and good service. Its a 5 minute walk to the city center which makes it by far the best hotel in Debrecen. I've stayed at other hotels in the city, but this is the most convenient hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuash82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Although Lycium has 4 stars you won't get the service as you expect.
Rooms are quite ok, but the restaurant and bar... They do not have a good (meaning here: average) cook, the waiter was slow, very slow. And it was one of my worst coffee ever...

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadtrip_tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

I spent 4 nights in the hotel. Staff at the reception was very helpful, the location of the hotel very good. Few min. walk from the main street and the Forum Shopping Mall. Room was clean, the only minus is the choice TV channels, but there is free internet to compensate it (with cable!). Unfortunately I had no time to check out the wellness area, which is apparently very good. Dinner was surprisingly good, even though I was alone in the restaurant most of the time (1x it was a bit too salty for my taste though...). All-in-all it is probably the best hotel in terms of location & value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MataHari_OnTheRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Debrecen
0.2 mi away
Centrum Hotel
Centrum Hotel
#1 of 18 in Debrecen
168 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aquaticum Debrecen Thermal and Wellness Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Divinus
Hotel Divinus
#4 of 18 in Debrecen
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Platan
Hotel Platan
#10 of 18 in Debrecen
15 reviews
5.6 mi away
Erdospuszta Club Hotel
Erdospuszta Club Hotel
#5 of 18 in Debrecen
45 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Aqua-Sol
Hunguest Hotel Aqua-Sol
#4 of 26 in Hajduszoboszlo
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lycium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lycium

Address: Hunyadi Janos utca 1-3, Debrecen 4026, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Northern Great Plain > Hajdu-Bihar County > Debrecen
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Debrecen
Price Range: $86 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lycium 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new splash of colour on the varied pallet of accommodation available in Eastern Hungary is the Hotel Lycium Debrecen. The four-star hotel located in the centre of Debrecen offers the customers 88 air-conditioned comfortable double rooms, 4 suites and a 400 m2 wellness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Lycium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing