We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One to miss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Civis Grand Hotel Aranybika
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Debrecen
Reviewed September 28, 2012

From the outside the hotel still has a look of grandeur from the old days, but inside it is simply old! This faded glory effect can sometimes be charming, here it is faded. Rooms are old, furniture is old, parking is chaotic and the food unmemorable.
A shame really, breakfast is to be found in a stunning ballroom setting. The hotel is on the central square. With a little work this would be a really nice place, but until then it should be missed. It is not worth the money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nandgNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 107 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel looks nice from the outside, but inside… it’s another story. It needs renovation; old and outdated. The rooms had not wifi in them that was super disappointing. I would not recommend this hotel to travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

No problem with Aranybika, average hotel, clean room & bathroom, helpful staff, no wifi at the room, but not disappointed if you choose this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank peterbago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

You have to looking forward another hotel :-) It was terrible! Very old furnitures in rooms, and my main problem was the missing air conditioning, it is unbearable on hot summer days. The foods are poor, not operating coffee machine, late or missing food resupply, chaotic parking system, complicated accessibility of the hotel, often noisy rooms, and the family apartments views are intolerable. I do not recommend to anyone...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joered74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Rooms are very functional, quiet; beds are surprisingly comfortable; breakfast is enough to skip lunch. Tired hotel, but terrific location and tons of history. Nice surprise after seeing some of the critical reviews here.

Room Tip: There are corner suites available, a nice, comfortable shared room with good bathroom, plus one bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BartMBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We heard that this was once the most famous hotel in Hungary- sadly once is the key word. It has been neglected for so long that it is no longer a comfortable place to stay.
We were visiting Debrecen from Budapest as part of my husbands birthday celebrations. The write up on late rooms was quite good saying the hotel had a spa and a lovely buffet breakfast.
On our arrival we discovered the spa was closed- probably for the best because it would have been very badly maintained I'm sure. The rooms were large , filled with old mismatched furniture. The beds were clean as to were the tiny en suite bathrooms. The TV's had 12 inch screens! And the room walls were so thin that the people next door knocked on my door at 11pm and told me to turn the TV down!

There were no staff anywhere except on the desk, It felt disserted and rather creepy in the large corridors.
The breakfast was truly vile- with a plate of salami and cheese just put on a table with a few bits of pepper and tomatoes and to our horror flies were walking all over the food!
My children wouldn't eat anything. The roof was leaking and dripping onto the breakfast food table. It was disgusting.
Do not stay there.
We did manage to cancel our remaining 2 nights and the girl on the desk gave us 10 % off.
She was very embarassed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

This hotel looks great from the outside, but what a disappointment when you get inside. This hotel is in urgent need of a total renovation! Everything is old and dated. Rooms are dark with just some terrible old and dark brown furniture. Depressing! Save your money. There's nothing "grand" about this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrLibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Debrecen hotels
0.1 mi away
Centrum Hotel
Centrum Hotel
#1 of 18 in Debrecen
166 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aquaticum Debrecen Thermal and Wellness Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Divinus
Hotel Divinus
#4 of 18 in Debrecen
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Platan
Hotel Platan
#10 of 18 in Debrecen
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lycium
Hotel Lycium
#3 of 18 in Debrecen
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stop Panzio
Stop Panzio
#8 of 18 in Debrecen
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Civis Grand Hotel Aranybika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civis Grand Hotel Aranybika

Address: Piac utca 11-15, Debrecen 4025, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Northern Great Plain > Hajdu-Bihar County > Debrecen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Debrecen
Price Range: $44 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Civis Grand Hotel Aranybika 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Civis Grand Hotel Aranybika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Civis Grand Debrecen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing