We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable atmosphere, nice service, all right food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Csokonai Restaurant

Csokonai Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 99 Restaurants in Debrecen
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
...
Level Contributor
85 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Reasonable atmosphere, nice service, all right food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Business dinner, service was truly nice. The main dish (fish) was rather good, Csokonai soup was great, dessert was disappointing but they gave me another type of dessert for free.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gurkpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    57
    14
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Csokonai soup during the years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We've been visiting the Csokonai for more than 10 years now. 3 or 4 years ago the management changed, so do the menu. First it was smaller, than they added "popular" foods such as burritos. I can tell you should not thy those foods. But the steak, and the soup is perfect.
Ok, not always, but the chefs can have bad days aren't they?
So my advise is to give it a try at least once.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
111 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Hidden gem that you should not miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

My God, this place has a wonderful cuisine, highly recommended for visitors who want to taste excellent quality, but modern Hungarian food. One of the best steak tartar that I tasted, ever. And the prices are very friendly compared to the excellent quality that you get.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Utas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Broblem with the food and service...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

You never know what you will get in this restaurant, sometimes the food is very good and sometimes you might get an over cooked gray stake tasting like rubber. On other times the waiters have been helpful and politite, but sometimes very rude and can ignore you completely. This restaurant is a risk that is not worth taking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabeth_E20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, but check the charges on your bill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

April of this year, yet once more, my wife and I visited Debrecen.
Debrecen, the second largest city in Hungary is only a short 2.2 hour drive from the capitol Budapest.
Just as my last stay, we again stayed at the hotel Divinus.
We have arrived at around 4:00pm, so after checking into the hotel, we started looking at places to have dinner at.
My wife, who is from Debrecen, suggested that we have dinner at the Csokonai restaurant, one of her favorite places to eat
when she lived there. This was my third time eating at the restaurant, so I said, great, lets do it. We had our two kids with us, so I have asked the hotel to make
a reservation for the 4 of us.
I was looking forward to dinner that evening, because the Csokonai does have a very good kitchen and the food is very pleasing to both the taste and the eye.
Prices are reasonable on the menu, so I did think the place was a good choice. We all made our selections from the extensive menu and just as before, the food and service
was excellent.
Then, since it was getting late, I have asked for the bill. I was given a piece of paper that was handwritten, with not much detail to it. The bill came to 16000.00 forints or about $73.00 USD for the four of us
Which at that time looked reasonable with the drinks and dessert. Paid the bill, left and additional 2000.00 forints for the gratuity and left. On the way to the hotel I started thinking about the price I have paid and for some reason it just did not add up after I went through the complete meal in my head. Back at the hotel I sat down in front of my computer and looked up the menu at the Csokonai which of course had all the
prices on it. Sure enough, Everything we had added up to 12000.00 forints. 4000.00 forints less than the bill I was given. I promptly called the manager at the Csokonai and to my surprise I was told that he was sorry for the overcharge and if I have the time, he would give me back the 4000.00 forint overcharge plus the 2000.00 forint gratuity. Next day I went back to the restaurant and I was given 6000.00 forints in cash with the sincere apologies of the management.
Since that experience in April, I have seen other reviews where the overcharging was mentioned. So if you go, you will not be sorry. The food is really excellent, however, do yourself a favor and check your bill before you leave the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank onlydelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Csokonai Restaurant also viewed

Debrecen, Hajdu-Bihar County
Debrecen, Hajdu-Bihar County
 
Debrecen, Hajdu-Bihar County
Debrecen, Hajdu-Bihar County
 

Been to Csokonai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing