We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Budapest

“Overhyped, poor service, average food”
Review of Getto Gulyas

Getto Gulyas
Ranked #374 of 4,064 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $15
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was looking forward to a 'typical' Hungarian menu, but had not expected the rudest and most unhelpful waiters, and a plate of stone cold food. Entirely full of tourists, who like us, had been seduced by the ratings in various online sites. Not a Hungarian in site. Not good at all.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2020 via mobile

Wonderful place for Hungarian food. Tends to be full for dinner and requires booking. We came for lunch and got the last table available. Very friendly employees.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank dorage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

This place was recommended for authentic goulash and it did not disappoint! Nice atmosphere, friendly service and delicious food and drink!

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kmptop10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

As Budapest locals, we're generally wary of eating at the 7th district tourist traps. However, after reading the mostly positive reviews of Ghetto Gulyas, we decided to try our luck and see what the fuss was about.

Bad decision.

My partner and I ordered the chicken paprikash and the duck, both of which were so overcooked we could barely cut through the meat. The sauce looked like it was from a packet (as it got cold, a plastic-like film appeared on top), and the flavours left a lot to be desired.

Our waiter, though, was absolutely brilliant.

It's a shame because we wanted to like this place, but take it from us, it's not worth it.

Visit Koleves instead.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bortsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kautezky, Tulajdonos at Getto Gulyas, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2020

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our restaurant and writing down your experiences.
We are proud of the fact you decided to give a try to our place. However, we read it sadly that our restaurant did not meet with your expectation. Please accept our most honest apologies for your inconveniences. 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

Some of the best food in the area and one of the most reasonably priced menus. Tried to go back but couldn't get in the second time!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jimmysmitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kautezky, Tulajdonos at Getto Gulyas, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2020

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us so kindly. We are beyond happy to receive the maximum rating from such an experienced guest.
We cannot find the suitable words to describe how happy we are by the fact that our restaurant managed to live up to your expectations! Moreover, it is an absolutely outstanding feeling to receive a compliment of our meals and the staff’s work at the same time.
Thank you very much for choosing us, we really hope that you come back some other time in the near future. We cannot wait to see you again!
Best regards,
Getto Gulyás Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Getto Gulyas also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Getto Gulyas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing