We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getto Goulash”
Review of Getto Gulyas

Getto Gulyas
Ranked #343 of 3,826 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $15
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Reviewed April 18, 2016

Our guide suggested this restaurant on our last day in Budapest. It is located in the Jewish Ghetto district, close to the Ruin Bars. The Goulash was excellent by the way, everyone really liked it. In fact, my daughter tried the Goulash in over 5 restaurants and she noted that this was her favorite. The meal was delicious, the atmosphere was cozy and the attention to detail in terms of the wait staff was excellent. They had a good wine and beer list as well.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Fatcat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

529 - 533 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile

We came across this restaurant by chance because it looked so appealing from outside. We were not disappointed, to say the least.
The waiters were friendly and the service wonderful. All the dishes we had were special and delicious, from the starters to the exquisite homemade curd cheese dumplings for dessert.
WOW

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank AmirWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile

Excellent food, atmosphere and staff .
The food is Hungarian with heavenly taste.
Every thing that we ordered from the menu was so tasty,
Don't leave without ordering the homemade curd cheese dumplings, the best dessert ever.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank ofraeinav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2016

Great Hungarian faire in a trendy spot. We were early for dinner, did not have a reservation, the place was packed but there was room to sit at the bar. My hubby ordered the venison goulash, I ordered the chicken paprika. We ordered sides of cucumbers in a sour cream, paprika sauce and spicy pickles. Everything was cooked to order and delicious! Lovely young bartender who was asking about the USA and wanted to visit Miami and NYC. Wonderful first dinner in Budapest!

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SDM673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

Visiting from Canada. It was our last dinner out in Budapest with friends. Casual warm ambiance. Wish we had discovered it sooner so we could go back:) Excellent service. Very friendly staff. We never felt rushed. Suggest reservation as it was a busy spot. Authentic Hungarian fare. The portion sizes are perfect. All 7 orders arrived together. No waiting. The mushroom stew was amazing. Everyone ordered something different and no one was disappointed! Best Cappuccino! It was the perfect ending to our stay in Hungary.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank GoPlaces21072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Getto Gulyas also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Getto Gulyas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing