We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow but enjoyable”
Review of New York Cafe

New York Cafe
Ranked #14 of 160 Dessert in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Description: The best cafe in the world! Experience traditional flavors and typical Hungarian dishes or enjoy elegant international cuisine.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Slow but enjoyable”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I were told we shouldn't miss this during our visit to Budapest. We went in the middle of the afternoon and we were surprised to see the place was full. We were hungry so we wanted lunch. I had the veal stew and my wife had the goulash and both were excellent. They served a big basket of bread and being a bread addict, I loved it. We had a "New York" dessert that was full of delicious whipped cream and ice cream. I had ice tea that was refreshing and delicious. The service as unbelievably slow, but we were in no hurry so we just enjoyed the beautiful ambiance. We were appalled by the people in short shorts, tennis shoes and shabby clothing. The prices were high but we thoroughly enjoyed the visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,196
    2,764
    1,275
    557
    378
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
159 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Classy experience”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This café is not very well located, although it si worth going, to experience the past grandeur of Budapest, the decor is baroque and fancy to look at. The service si good and the food although expensive si great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fernando s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant. So-so food.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The bottle of white wine my friends ordered was delicious. They even had gluten-free diner rolls, albeit not very good ones. My very expensive glass of red wine was corked. My cold, cherry soup tasted like a weak smoothie. Our entrees were good. Not great, but very good. My salad was amazing. Like, truly incredible. So many kinds of different, flavorful greens. I was very impressed. However, nothing else was really that outstanding except for the ambiance and the bill.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lacyeloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Glamarous”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The cafe was certainly the most beautiful with amazing decor and breathtaking frescoes on the ceiling. Food wise it was good too, not great but still delicious.

Helpful?
Thank jenlin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service is hit and miss”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

To have what is arguably the most beautiful surrounds and hit and miss service is such a shame! I dropped in for a couple of cocktails to savor the environment. Really enjoyed it. Service was attentive without being obtrusive. But I did observe other tables showing frustration.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbourne3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Cafe also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to New York Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing