We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but worth it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gerbeaud

Gerbeaud
Ranked #20 of 145 Dessert in Budapest
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

If you want to add one or two kilos during your vacation this is the place to go.
During our week long stay in Budapest, we made sure to try every single desert on the menu.
The outside seating is great. It is overlooking the Vorosmarty busy square so sitting outside you can see the people going and coming. It is also a fantastic location for stop on your way out of the metro station.
The baily's chocolate cake is exquisite as well as their Tiramisu and the macaroons. Other cakes are ok but extremely creamy.
Better to go on a sunny morning, although they do stay late - last order 10:30pm
Have tried their breakfast but not really worth the extra money you pay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,081
    1,876
    1,008
    397
    234
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
511 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Two restaurants - main inside and bistro outside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled on the outside section of this restaurant shortly after arriving in Budapest. It was shady and comfortable, with fans blowing moisture, and made a great spot form people-watching. The green pea soup was excellent - the salad with 1/2 chicken good and the service was attentive. Later that evening we ate downstairs in the main restaurant. It is a lovely old place. My salad with chicken was really good, with a nice dressing, and my husband enjoyed his fish. Desserts were also very good. We enjoyed the old building with its European atmosphere. My only complaint was that the high ceilings made it noisy, so conversation was a challenge.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Expensive and overpraised...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I heard about Gerbeaud last time I visited Budapest, but didn't get to eat there. This time, it was in my 'to do' list.
The selection of cakes in the display looks very tempting; The picture-featured-menu looks even more tempting, with various dishes and cakes which aren't in display.
In order to try many cakes, I chose a plate of three slices of different cakes, the "TRADITIONAL GERBEAUD CAKE SELECTION", which consists of three different slices of cakes: Gerbeaud slice, Esterházy torte, and Dobos torte. These are served with two scopes of ice cream, chocolate and walnut flavoured.

The cakes were a bit of a disappointment. The Gerbeaud slice and the Dobos torte were dry and too... "regular". Nothing special. So was the chocolate ice cream.
The Esterházy torte was good, and the walnut ice cream was surprisingly good.

It is possible that other dishes are better, and that I chose mediocre dishes. But if so, these shouldn't be offered in such a highly respected Cafe.
All in all, this has been quite a disappointment, and an expensive one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pilot1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pleasing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

It was on a list I compiled before coming to Budapest and foundling it by accident. Very good steak, roast veg and dauphinois potatoes, and choices for the vegetarian who accompanies me. She was satisfied with a vegetable pasta meal. Wine seemed expensive compared to other places.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very good but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The cake here is good. Of course it is, this is Budapest! But, there was better to be had at other, cheaper and equally gorgeous establishments.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank veronica-ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gerbeaud also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Gerbeaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing