We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Cafe”
Review of Gerbeaud

Gerbeaud
Ranked #21 of 163 Dessert in Budapest
Cuisines: Hungarian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Cafe”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very good location , atmosperic cafe , with delicious pastries. I just wish the waitresses smile a litle more and be more polite , its not my fault that I dont speak Hungarian neither that they do not speak English.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank angelo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,305
    2,045
    1,089
    429
    249
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth a visit but pricey”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This place is very well located and absolutely huge! They obviously trade by their name and reputation so prices were well over the top but the service was good and cakes/ice creams were nice. If you are only going to visit one coffee/ tea rooms in Budapest though, the Central Kavehaz about 7 mins walk away is better.

Helpful?
Thank lizardcrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
501 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Go for dessert”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a beautiful, historic cafe that still sells excellent deserts despite being a tourist attraction. The sandwiches, however, are fairly average so I don't recommend having a meal here. We had apple strudel with very fresh, creamy ice-cream and an excellent chocolate cake. Its a bit pricy for Budapest, but I'll go back just for the desert.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trvladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“A Must, a must”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Don't leave Budapest without visiting this landmark ''Tea Rooms''. The name does not do it justice. This emporium will transport you back in time to the grandour of days gone by, with its high ceilings, beautiful arornments and classic furniture. The dishes are just amazing, words just cannot do it justice - you really do have to be there to really appreciate the experience. Just don't miss this experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank michael109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Maybe better in the summer?? So this is a winterreview.”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

12 years since I last visited Gerbeaud, in summertime..., That was a memory for life, sitting outdoor on the square and relax. So I should not be suprised when there was no serving outside in November. Inside of the Gerbeaud is for a more sofisticated public, so, not for me. But outside in the summer, yes I have to give them another chanse.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gerbeaud also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Gerbeaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing