We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pasta, hit or miss mains, careful of overcharges”
Review of Ristorante Krizia

Ristorante Krizia
Ranked #257 of 3,160 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Terézváros
Venice, Ca
Level Contributor
141 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great pasta, hit or miss mains, careful of overcharges”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We dined here on our first night in Budapest. It was easy to find and although we did not have a reservation, we were given an available table. It is a small restaurant but was mostly full. In our opinion, It was overbearingly brightly lit in the restaurant. It took a long time for us to order drinks but then service was prompt after that. There were two servers- one that appeared to be the owner or manager. They gave us an eggplant amuse which was ok. My husband and I split the raw porcini mushroom salad, which came with a small amount of arugula and was so tasty. We also shared the pumpkin tortellini (with lots of mushrooms on top), which was absolutely delicious. My duck main course was poorly done- oversalted and sliced like thin roast beef. My husband had the osso bucco with risotto which was superb.
I had read previously to be careful of restaurants in budapest overcharging foreigners. We roughly calculated our bill in our head, but sure enough, when we received our handwritten itemized bill written by the owner/manager, we were overcharged 1000Ft. Dont be shy to get or ask for a menu to calculate charges. We informed our waiter of this overcharge and he seemed to preknowingly acknowledge the overcharge with no disagreement. He charged us the correct amount we told him to charge. This did not seem like an honest mistake by the somewhat shady owner/manager. Bad business tactic for a few extra forints.
For two glasses prosecco, shared salad, shared pasta, two main courses, and 10% gratuity included, we paid 15,200ft- about $80. Stay away from the duck, and probably stick to the Italian food and precalculate your bill... And you'll enjoy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LApuplover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joszi, Proprietario at Ristorante Krizia, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
dear Mrs/Mr.

I would like just say somthing about the bill,first i chek the order and i found goose liver tortelloni not pumpkin tortelloni...maybe our waiter missunderstund your request...you ask for pumpkin tortelloni!!!but for sure you get goose liver tortelloni...that's wy you found porcini mushroom on top!!
pumpkin tortelloni we serve only with butter and sage!!and you had right amount on your bill!!
so!!!you dont pay 1000 ft. more !!!!you get 1000 ft. DISCOUNT!!!of course four our waiter mistake..
now he will pay 1000 ft.sorry again for dissapoint!!

regards

Graziano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    52
    27
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Following on the reviews from this website I made a point of visiting this restaurant and I was not disappointed. The service was superb and the waiter was very friendly (although he kept a respectful distance until given 'the nod'), he even prepared us a free starter which tasted great. The food was fantastic as was the wine and a meal for two came to just short of 12000HF (around £35) including a bottle of wine... can't say fairer that that! Excellent all round thanks Krizia for a great night!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank xgeemanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Italian in Budapest”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I took 10 people to this charming hole in the wall. The food and decor were a huge surprise. The choices were plentiful and the food quality was delicious. The service levels for a small place were great. The pasta and fish choices were fabulous. This is a high quality dining experience. Do not be deceived by the location this will be a memorable dining experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We visited this restaurant following the reviews on trip advisor and were not disappointed! There was a lovely, welcoming atmosphere and the food and service were excellent. Superb!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LottieG2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
532 reviews
384 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian food prepared to order”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We never expected to find Italian food of this quality in Budapest. We were so wrong. The prices were low for the quality of the food you were served. We had a wonderful spaghetti with clam sauce that we shared. The pesto reminded me of Italy the first time I enjoyed it many, many years ago. Save room for a wonderful dessert....they have them here. Enjoy this wonderful restaurant....we plan to go back again when we return to Budapest next year

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank marie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Krizia also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Ristorante Krizia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing