We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great setting”

Robinson Restaurant
Ranked #141 of 3,160 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Városliget
Description: Robinson restaurant opened in 1989 on the small island of gastronomy at Varosligeti Lake, a few minutes on foot from Heroes' Square (Hosok tere). Over the past decades it earned popularity among the citizens of the capital as well as the expatriate community of Budapest. Numerous great celebrities - Arnold Schwarzenegger, Sylvester Stallone, Robert Redford, David Copperfield and Larry Hagman to name but a few - have tasted the delicacies prepared in the kitchen of the Robinson. The environment of the restaurant is no less hospitable. The Museum of Fine Arts, the Budapest Zoological and Botanical Gardens, the Amusement Park of Budapest, the Great Circus and several other landmarks are located in Varosliget. Mediterranean environment, homely atmosphere, live Latin guitar music and an excellent kitchen guarantee a memorable evening spent here.
Painswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, great setting”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had a table by the lake which, on a sunny June evening was perfect. The food was not cheap, but was not very expensive and was good. The waiter was friendly and nicely corrected my Hungarian pronunciation.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your praising words! It is very good to hear that you had a great time with us! I will certainly pass your appreciation to our chef, who will be definitely delighted about it!
I look forward to another occasion, when we can provide you the same quality!


With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    679
    406
    135
    67
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Food average and very overpriced for what it is and service is terrible. First ate here 5 years ago and it was great, every time I have eaten here since it has got progressively worse. Service is awful, I speak some Hungarian but often keep that to myself so they don't know I understand them and you don't want to know how they spoke about English speaking customers in their own language. One waiter was constantly texting on his phone while customers were waiting for their bills and trying to get service, in most restaurants (of any standard) in other countries you would be sacked for having your phone out just once.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank maximusmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabica1984, Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest. I'm so sorry you have the wrong impression of our restaurant. We solve your problems, if we know about it. Unfortunately we have not indicated that you have trouble with your food. I assure you that no one is using a phone in the restaurant. Prohibited! What you saw, an i-pod. The waiters give the orders to the kitchen. (!!) Most restaurants use this system. I'm sorry if it was confusing. I hope next time we can convince that this is an excellent restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek Ca
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“ambiance on the water in Budapest”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My friend and I Happened to be in Budapest for a few days sight seeing On our last night we asked the concierge. " what restaurant do you suggest we go to for the best meal in the city?" I don't even remember the name of the place he suggested, but he placed us in a cab and sent us off. When we got there we were greeted by a a very tall man in white gloves who basically whisked us into the establishment without a smile or small talk. Needless to say we weren't to happy with the reception we received or the friendliness of the staff, plus the prices on the menu were on the moon. so they weren't to thrilled when we up and left. It was our money and decided it just was't for us.

We looked across the street and saw a beautiful little lake and decided to take a walk to see if there were any other restaurants close. The area was very festive and cute The weather perfect. There was a small flea market and hamburger joint at the end. But no other sit down places to eat. People were walking around and also out on paddle boats enjoying the evening. Both of us saw the place at the same time. An inviting upscale brilliantlyl it building sitting right on the water,
Robinson
NOW, here it is Friday night and two American ladies without reservations.starving and begging to get in. It was pretty busy. They accepted us.which zeal and graciousness We had a great table over looking the water and a fabulous food. I had Salmon and all the trimming, potatoes roasted with rosemary and tomatoes. Kate had a roasted chicken salad plus Pom Frits (french fries) We were magnets for our three skilled waiters to practice their already almost perfect English. They seem to love Americans. What a great place to spend a soft spring or summer evening with good conversation and great food. Getting the flavor of the real people of Budapest.. Oh, and did I mention the well stocked bar?? The Tequila Sunrise and cosmos went down swimmingly.If you go to Budapest it is a must.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a complete privilege reading your review! Thanks a million for sharing your kind thoughts here with the community. The whole staff were more than delighted to read that you had a great time with us! We are very happy that our work has been appreciated - Thank you! Quality is our first priority, and you ensured us that we are on the right way!
We look forward to welcome you back soon!


With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
764 reviews
541 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Grumpy service, good food!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Arrived a half hour early for our table and got a lecture from the person up front about shifting the time. Was seated and wanted just a rocket salad to start instead of salad, with cheese and loads of other stuff. Was told by the waiter that the menu was the menu and that was it. Once food was arrived it was good but the staff obviously need to go back to charm school. Will not return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRobinson, Guest Relations Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Patrick H,

Please accept our modest apologies about this incident! We are now conducting a follow-up evaluation based on guest reviews, and are thankful for your feedback, and the time you took to share it with us!

Were you to ever visit Budapest again, please contact us by the e-mail above so that we could make sure to redeem our otherwise good reputation, if you would kindly give us a chance to do so.


Sincerely,



The Robinson Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice location, but tasteless food”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has a great location in a small pond. It has a relaxed and romantic atmosphere.

Sadly the food does not live up to the expectations. We were four people dining and the conclusion was clear; the food was ok, but tasteless. I ordered crêpe suzette for desert, but was served small thick pancakes with cream.....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosehjerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRobinson, Guest Relations Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Rosehjerte,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us! We are sorry to read that our meals could not catch up to the beauty of the lake, nor live up to your expectations! However, by your feedback you have greatly helped us in our endless road of improvement.

If you come to visit Budapest once again, we would like to welcome you if we may, to redeem our reputation of excellence with you as well.


Sincerely,

The Robinson Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robinson Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Robinson Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing