We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Fatal dish for 2 persons is actually for 4-5 persons”
Review of Fatal Etterem

Fatal Etterem
Ranked #518 of 3,237 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $22 - $44
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The Fatal dish for 2 persons is actually for 4-5 persons”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Can't comment on the quality or the taste of food as this is Hungarian cuisine, not french or Japanese, however I can comment on the size of the portions they are HUGE and we should of known that by the size of the waiter, who was also trying to convince us to order a salad too :D
Instead I ordered a soup which was also huge but delicious.
We ate and ate and in the and took 1 kg for home and left 1/2 kg fired potatoes there. So be aware.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goddeess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    628
    328
    195
    288
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you want to eat Hungarian food this is your place.”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The place is kind old winery, the food is good and plentiful, the attention of the staff is not very good, but ... I think it is worth it, yet I choose this place for lunch original Hungarian dishes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, UK
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, amazingly large portions!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Our second visit, and again the meal was excellent. We had the schnitzel, which was huge....really huge! Atmosphere is lively, food good, wine and beer reasonably priced - just one snag - Credit Cards not accepted!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lazynights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Massive portions”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Massive portions. I had a kebab with lovely jasmine rice and my husband had a massive cast iron pot of pork and stew. Service was a bit grumpy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just avoid it”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Disaster. Absolutely one of worst service ever. Staff unbelievably rude. Avoid the fat guy and avoid the restaurant at all. We didn't complain much just as we were afraid the staff would mess with our food (they even looked dodgy). Gulyas was double price than in other restaurants, my friends were not allowed to share a dish, the quality of the food was very low and finally we even got ham in the vegetarian dish and the staff wanted us to pay it anyway.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank francescoesticazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fatal Etterem also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Fatal Etterem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing