We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time and patience is all you need”
Review of Fatal Etterem

Fatal Etterem
Ranked #463 of 3,121 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $22 - $44
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Qiryat-Yam, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Time and patience is all you need”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

You have to wait to get a table, standing in this cellar restaurant, and waiting is always a long time. After that you wait for a waiter to place your order, and then of course, you wait for your food to be prepared.
As a prize, you get great food! Enormous amounts, the Wiener Schnitzel my husband ordered, could not fit on the plate it was so big. My pig's knuckle was also extra large, but also extra tender, and well seasoned.
There was so much left on the plates, they offered to pack it for us to take back to the hotel, so we had it for supper.
The prices matched the sizes of the portions.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    608
    315
    186
    267
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pig portion!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Actually we wanted to go to another restaurant,but on the way we stopped because of the decoration outside. Also it was interesting to go inside(underground).
I ordered beef steak with mash rooms on the top. The taste was ok,but it was too much!!! It had a rice & potatoes by side.
My husband ordered pig leg... It was really like a pig food! A lot! and pasta was a huge portion. I think if people likes huge portion is good restaurant,but if not, I would prefer to go another restaurant. We couldn't eat dessert because of too full! But we enjoyed to drink parinka(^O^)/

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlomaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“food ok but very poor service”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We passed this restaurant and it looked really good, great menu, and pics of food were great.

Went down, ordered food, I tried to order a beef goulash, but they didn't have any....strange that they don't have any of the main Hungarian dish available, but I had chicken goulash instead, which was exactly the same as the chicken paprika that I had the day before...

my husband ordered a steak, and after the waiter left the table he realised he hadn't been asked how he wanted it cooked, he went after the waiter to ask for it well done and the waiter said its to late, its gone so we had no idea how it would be cooked. thankfully it was cooked through when it came.

The food was ok, not the best we had but not the worst. Our main complaint was that we asked for our bill just before 9pm, asked 3 different people for it and it eventually came at about 9.30, then I put my credit card down to pay, only to be told they only accept cash, luckily we had enough on us to cover it but we couldn't believe that a restaurant of that size and price would not accept cards. We gave them the cash and then sat around waiting for our change, we ended up having to ask for our change.

If you do go, ask for your bill when you get your main course!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hedonistic dinner”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Forget about cholesterol and dive into imaginatively served meal. Pork leg was simply mouth-watering experience. Be ready to book the table well in advance, do everything necessary but don't miss it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Borislav R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Huge portions of plain food”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We arrived in Budapest on a friday evening and were looking for a restaurant that was still open close to our hotel. So we ended up in 'Fatal'. The restaurant is in the basement, was very crowdy and had a typical 'bohemian' atmosphere. The waiters also looked pretty 'bohemian' and were a bit rude. While waiting we say a lot of really huge dishes passing by. So I suppose you best come here if you could eat a horse. When my dish came (duck leg with cabbage-pasta?) it looked smaller then some other dishes, but still very big (half a duck with lots of pasta). It wasn't terrible but nothing refined or memorable. This is clearly a tourist trap, we didn't notice any 'locals' here (except for the waiters)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kurt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fatal Etterem also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Fatal Etterem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing