We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!”
Review of Fatal Etterem

Fatal Etterem
Ranked #463 of 3,121 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $22 - $44
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stay away!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was an awful choice: the food was quite bad, prices high and service extremely bad. The waiter whas very rude, and did not allow us to share the different plates. My chicken dish was not well cooked and our waiter was not available, so I went to look for him. I was taken aback at the kitchen's condition: it was worse than a pigsty! The manager was so agressive when I requested that they re-cook my dish that I feared for my safety. Even though I didn't touch the food they charged my dish. For your health and phisical safety, avoid this tourist trap.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank EugeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    608
    315
    186
    267
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Massive servings of very tasty food”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is one of the busiest restaurants on Vaci Utca and with good reason. The food is extremely tasty, including many Hungarian dishes served in very large portions. You will do very well to finish any dish on the menu, but dont let this put you off! There was live music most nights and a great atmosphere. The only real downside was the service, acceptable rather than great, although there were very few restaurants in Budapest that were better. I guess the Hungarians have a little to learn in customer service. VIsited twice on a 5 day visit to Budapest we like it so much.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is your stereotypical tourist trap; low quality food, inflated prices and pushy waiters. It was the most expensive restaurant we ate at in Budapest and was the worst by a country mile. Fatal seems to lure clients in with their huge dishes, which admittedly they are, but if your choosing quantity, you at least need a bit of quality! My advice would be to save your money and eat somewhere decent, preferably not on Vaci Utca!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeRipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had our first dinner in Budapest there.
Very big portions. But nothing else nothing special and not cheap-prices like in Greece not lower...!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kakaoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Big dish”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We got to Fatal restaurant after getting few good reviews and we didn't disapointed. The dishes were very big. the service was friendly and quick.
They recomended on Chicken plater for two (only 5900 huf).
That dish was huge. it wasn't for two it was for four people. a mountain of food including half a chicken 6 schnitzels a lot of chips, rice and cabbage with mushrooms and vegies.
Every couple that orderd that dish couldn't finish it and everyone were starring at them to see thier reaction to that huge meal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gili W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fatal Etterem also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Fatal Etterem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing