We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and lives up to the hype”
Review of Hummusbar

Hummusbar
Ranked #302 of 3,581 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Grill, Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: We believe in curiosity and the pursuit of new experiences, a journey that leads to far lands and distant times. Since the beginning of time, food has been the most vital necessity for survival and besides that, a main source of joy. This is one of the few things that never change. Food is the oldest venue which brings worlds together. The first hummusbar was opened in 2005, and since then, our restaurants have become a part of the city with several locations. We are present in the most desirable spots of the urban scene with a boutique flavour to our food and our sites. Our food is unique by its simplicity. We use quality ingredients, our dishes are homemade, fresh and nutritious, based on ancient recipes. We keep our atmosphere humble and welcoming. Everyday, we work to remind our guests how simple a thing can be to enjoy life. We are a growing chain in Budapest, Hungary with our eye on the european market.
Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

They have taken the humble hummus to the next level. A great selection of dishes and sandwiches with loads of variety for a vegetarian. I got the falafel plate and you can choose 2 side with that, I got hummus and rice while my wife got hummus and chips with her meat dish. This is served with an Arabic bread baked on the spot and two hot sauces. And everything was spectacularly tasty and fresh (including the chips). I also tried the lentil soup, which was stunning. And all of this with two drinks barely for to 4500ft (less than 14€). Highly recommended.

Thank Syk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavel M, General Manager at Hummusbar, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2016

Great review Syk, Thanks!

hummsubar
handmade, heartfelt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 335 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2016

The food here is great, and the service is quick and friendly. We went for the wraps in a small size and they were absolutely huge! The fresh lemonade is also incredible and can't recommend enough.

Remember your student card as students get 10% discount!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tal_11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavel M, General Manager at Hummusbar, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2016

We love students, they are the future.. once we were student as well, not so good ones thou i must admit ;)

hummusbar
handmade, heartfelt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

I love hummus. I love fresh healthy food so I loved hummus bar! The food is made in front of you and it's so so yummy! Really affordable too, I'm coming back tomorrow

1  Thank Torzibabez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavel M, General Manager at Hummusbar, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2016

Time to rise prices?... :)

Thanks!

hummusbar
handmade, heartfelt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

Fast and fresh Mediterranean wraps and the most incredible hummus I've eaten in years. Their homemade delicious lemonade was so refreshing, and both the chicken shwarma and falafel wraps tasted great.

1  Thank SM2013S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavel M, General Manager at Hummusbar, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2016

Sounds good! Ill go eat now ;)

hummusbar
handmade, heartfelt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2016 via mobile

The hummus bar had a change lately. For a long time the place had a terrible service and i kept comming back just because i like hummus and its the only place you can get normal hummus in budapest. After the renovation i came back and saw new stuff, hopefully better one. I got a good service and the reataurant is nicer. The food was the same. Nice.

Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavel M, General Manager at Hummusbar, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2016

Well Daniel.. The service was never terrible! At least half of the stuff is till the same :)

But yes, our made a full renovation of our flag ship branch including totally brand new central kitchen, new see through bakery (where the old "vip room was) and created new brand communication elements. (check the walls..)

The visual renovation and rebranding wasn't enough and we went though total reorganisation and restructure of the business, thats why the service might look better to you ; )

We opened 2 new branches under the fresh brand identity, another one is the in the works and we are planing to retrofit the rest of the branches by the end of this year.

More interesting things to come.... btw, we have great specials now as well !
check out web (soon to be a new one) and fb


hummusbar
handmade, heartfelt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hummusbar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Hummusbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing