We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch Spot”
Review of Hummusbar

Hummusbar
Ranked #358 of 3,650 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Grill, Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: We believe in curiosity and the pursuit of new experiences, a journey that leads to far lands and distant times. Since the beginning of time, food has been the most vital necessity for survival and besides that, a main source of joy. This is one of the few things that never change. Food is the oldest venue which brings worlds together. The first hummusbar was opened in 2005, and since then, our restaurants have become a part of the city with several locations. We are present in the most desirable spots of the urban scene with a boutique flavour to our food and our sites. Our food is unique by its simplicity. We use quality ingredients, our dishes are homemade, fresh and nutritious, based on ancient recipes. We keep our atmosphere humble and welcoming. Everyday, we work to remind our guests how simple a thing can be to enjoy life. We are a growing chain in Budapest, Hungary with our eye on the european market.
Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

Fast and fresh Mediterranean wraps and the most incredible hummus I've eaten in years. Their homemade delicious lemonade was so refreshing, and both the chicken shwarma and falafel wraps tasted great.

1  Thank SM2013S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavel M, General Manager at Hummusbar, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2016

Sounds good! Ill go eat now ;)

hummusbar
handmade, heartfelt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 380 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2016 via mobile

The hummus bar had a change lately. For a long time the place had a terrible service and i kept comming back just because i like hummus and its the only place you can get normal hummus in budapest. After the renovation i came back and saw new stuff, hopefully better one. I got a good service and the reataurant is nicer. The food was the same. Nice.

Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavel M, General Manager at Hummusbar, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2016

Well Daniel.. The service was never terrible! At least half of the stuff is till the same :)

But yes, our made a full renovation of our flag ship branch including totally brand new central kitchen, new see through bakery (where the old "vip room was) and created new brand communication elements. (check the walls..)

The visual renovation and rebranding wasn't enough and we went though total reorganisation and restructure of the business, thats why the service might look better to you ; )

We opened 2 new branches under the fresh brand identity, another one is the in the works and we are planing to retrofit the rest of the branches by the end of this year.

More interesting things to come.... btw, we have great specials now as well !
check out web (soon to be a new one) and fb


hummusbar
handmade, heartfelt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2016

Extremely good shawrma with hummus - great place to eat for a reasonable price - the main dish costs around 5 EUR and the taste is fabulous

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Krzysztof D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavel M, General Manager at Hummusbar, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2016

You just made me hungry :)

hummusbar
handmade, heartfelt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2016

Busy lunch spot with good service. We were greeted with a small glass of lemonade then had a choice of hummus either in a wrap with salad or on a plate with flatbread to dip in with or without extra bits. We chose the plates, and the portions were huge. Definitely a great idea and this was one of several branches through the city.

Thank elainejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavel M, General Manager at Hummusbar, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2016

Thanks Elainejh,

We have 12 location sin the city and more to come soon...

thanks of the review !


hummusbar
handmade, heartfelt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2016

Amazing! If you like hummus, falafel etc then you will love this place. The perfect fast food restaurant, great service, nice atmosphere, even better if you can get a seat outside. Cheap too at £4 a main dish.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank samtclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavel M, General Manager at Hummusbar, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2016

Thanks Sam,

We have variety of dishes suitable for each and every pocket :)

hummusbar
handmade, heartfelt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hummusbar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Hummusbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing