We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food.”
Review of Bock Bistro

Bock Bistro
Ranked #77 of 3,121 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Lucenec, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

The food was delicious and the service nice. Live music was playing. We had to have table reservation in advance.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zuzana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    886
    316
    96
    41
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hungarian food with top service”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Bock Bistro fits perfectly in the new way of restaurant style. It's dishes offer the well-known Hungarian flavor but in a more easily digestible way, not too heavy. And all that in a relaxed bistro atmosphere. The service is very attentive - maybe a bit too much used to foreign customers as we were immediately talked to in English. But you can feel that the personal is trained to treat everyone as someone who might return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gitnő R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We have just been in Budapest for a week and visited this restaurant twice, it really is fantastic. The choice of food and wine are both amazing and the chef's specials are a must. Prices are brilliant considering the quality of food.Jozef our server helped us to understand the menu he was a wonderful young man very courteous and explained everything in detail. Whilst visiting Budapest we visited a Michelin star restaurant and we have to say the overall experience at Bock was far greater. You need to reserve a table as it is full each evening, Sundays they are closed. It lies next door to The Corinthia Budapest so is very central. We shall certainly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lyndabeckwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great service, great food”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

It was a pleasure visiting this place on our wedding anniversary. We had a really nice and helpful waiter that explained the menu to us and chose a wonderful wines to it. We both had 3 meal course and it was really not expensive at all. We would love to come back when next time in Budapest.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilze H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
164 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Top notch!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Two weeks of calinary vacations ended with a visit to bock bistro! It was not my choise to go there because i always try to avoid restaurants that are part of hotel chains. However i was possitively supprised by the best service, excellent atmosphere, decor and above all the most creative and absolutely flawless and super tasty dishes for all the family. Prices were also great for the level of cuisine that they serve.

Helpful?
Thank potamos
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Bock Bistro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Bock Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing