We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Innovative and delightful”
Review of Bock Bistro

Bock Bistro
Ranked #76 of 3,160 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Innovative and delightful”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Everything we tasted was perfectly cooked. The variety was excellent. We were delighted to find goat featured on the specials of the day- horseradish and goat neck soup, goat livers, roasted goat shoulder- no wastage! Good service too. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    893
    320
    97
    41
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best meals ever”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The appetizers were just mouth watering, the wines delicious, main courses fantastic. We were lucky enough to have a table without a reservation (which is highly recommended) because we ate at this bistro on Thursday.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MicroVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great for a wine lover”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We weren't drinking wine that night but this is definitely a place for a wine lover to go. Extensive list and they have their own winery. The food was traditional Hungarian and very good. The specials are written on a chalkboard (extensive list of specials daily) which unfortunately is in Hungarian only but the waiter tried to explain in English what each were. It is unfortunate because there are nearly as many items on the specials menu as their are on the regular menu. Their English is not that great, but good enough. The one item we chose off the specials menu turned out to be not what was expected due to poor translation but it was still delicious. The Hungarian (paprika) chicken was tender and succulent as was the crispy fried chicken. I didn't like the herbed pork lard they served in place of butter. Anyway, this had very good food and I would recommend it of you're in the area. It's not too far from the Boscolo which is where we stayed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PernicketyGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food for reasonable prices”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the beautiful Corinthia Hotel right next to this nice restaurant. We had dinner reservations for the world famous Gundel the next night, so thought we try something a little less elegant and expensive. The food, staff, and service were all first rate. From appetizers to dessert, everything was excellent and very affordable. It turned out to be the best meal we had in Budapest. If I live nearby, this would be a once-a-week stop for us!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ralph s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE SERVICE!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our visit at Bock Bistro wasn't what we expected from an award-winning restaurant. The food was OK but definetely not the best we have had in Budapest. But the service was horrible! It couldn't get any slower! We ordered and we had to wait for 50 minutes for our starters, not to mention that our drinks arrived after our starters! What's more, we had to wait for another whole hour for our main courses! When we complained to the waiter, he assured us that our dishes will be arriving in 3 minutes, but we still had to wait for another quarter. By that time we had lost both our appetite and our patience! There is a sufficient number of waiters in the restaurant but they keep themselves occupied drying the glasses or talking to clients! What's more, it wasn't just us! On the night of our visit, there were complaints about delays from all our neighbouring tables. We left after 3 hours without having desserts!(We had run out of patience.) It was a disappointing experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tasosclea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bock Bistro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Bock Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing