We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Hungarian with Flair” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bock Bistro

Bock Bistro
Ranked #43 of 2,794 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hungarian with Flair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

After eating some wonderful Hungarian food in Budapest, Bock Bisztro takes it to another level. I am not sure if it is correct to say it is "elevated" Hungarian, but it is certainly not ordinary. The food displayed attention to detail and execution. For entrees, we had the Chicken Paprika and a slow-braised tender Beef Shoulder (I think) with Pig Ears. With the two sauces that came with our dishes, you could taste the care and effort in their preparation. The cured and smoked Mangalitsa ham appetizer missed the mark for me. Although I certainly respect and appreciate this fatty and ancient breed, I am not sure I would further salt thin slices of cured ham. Perhaps locals prefer more salt than our American palates. If you want to try this noble ham, you might ask them to hold the salt. The chef's Villany Bock Cuvee red was excellent. We were so full dessert for us was the sweet Tokaj Aszu wine. It surely lives up to its acclaim. We bought a reasonably priced bottle of this Tokaj Aszu to take home. They sell all their wines on the restaurant wall at "street" prices.

Bock Bisztro is not expensive given the quality of the food. The convenient outer ring tram stops right in front. By the way, make a reservation. People were walking in and being turned away.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MarcoPolo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    748
    262
    78
    32
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hungarian flavours, wide selection of wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Located in the top-end hotel Corinthia, it goes without saying that the restaurant is quite expensive. They offer a wide selection of quality Hungarian wines and with Cabernet Franc or Pinot Noir you can't make a mistake. Food options are also great especially if you like Hungarian flavours.
On the negative side, the place is too crowded and noisy for a restaurant and the guy with accordion (harmonica) seemed to play it just randomly, which was annoying most of the time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Miran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Expensive and often booked up but excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Love this place. Such good food and excellent service - waiters that really know the food. It's pricey, even by UK standards, but really good food. I can highly recommend the Ox Cheek.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Designer156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Traditional food in a bright setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at the Corinthia Hotel and Bock Bistro adjoins the property. It is very crowded for dinner but had an open lunch reservation. The service is excellent and the food was exceptional. I dream of the crispy duck leg and the wonderful local red wine.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank QueenOfTheR0ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marvellous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

First of all, thanks must be given to our marvellous waiter who was charming, humorous and very apt at choosing our menu. We were served like kings for the price of your standard meal in Vienna.
After describing what kind of wine I preferred, he chose to my taste very well. I didn't even look at the menu, because he told us he had the perfect dish for each of the three of us. My friend was vegetarian and although there was nothing for her on the menu, he assured us he would bring her something suitable. We said surprise us.
We were treated a feast!
All three meals were simply wonderful. For me, the portions were just right and the dishes very well presented. Not to mention the taste!!
Wine, appetiser and main course came to only 22€ per person.
The whole experience was memorable and I would recommend this restaurant to everyone I know.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Honeycheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bock Bistro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Bock Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing