We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, esp for mangalica fans” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dio Etterem

Dio Etterem
Ranked #1,723 of 3,044 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: European, Central European, Hungarian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent, esp for mangalica fans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

An excellent restaurant with top service, serving up amazing Hungarian nouveau cuisine. Excellent wine list, certainly the best place to eat on Sas utca!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    51
    23
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I went to Dio after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. We went there during peak hours and the place was almost empty. That felt a bit weird. Service was very good. They had TV on which surprised me and distracted me from conversation, food and experience... I am not sure what was the point since all 4 tables didn't care about it. I asked the waiter to switch it off (I know, I know...) and he did. Nice music, good food. I had a steak with a lovely mushroom sauce. Decoration on the plate made from a pinkish sauce was completely dry which I found a bit stupid. My mate had a huge plate of something made out of pork. Tasted great but there was a bit too much on a plate. As a treat from the Chef we were given a duck parfait which tasted ok but was a bit too fatty for my taste. For dessert I asked for apple sorbet ONLY even though you don't have that option in menu. It was ok. Frozen apple mousse. Could taste the ice. Interiors are looking great. Worth visitng. Apparently it belongs to a very rich film producer who owns a LOT of the places around Budapest therefore it isn't highly popular with the locals. It is Hungarian fusion and restaurant is made to be posh.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Foie gras ravioli - A MUST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

I prefer small, quality meals. The portions were perfect for our party of two. They served pate with warm bread which was surprisingly good. We shared an appetizer - foie gras ravioli- it was delicious. We had the duck confit and baby chicken. The duck confit was spectacular - it was served with this streudel roll that complimented the duck really well. From what I understand the spring chicken was too hard to eat- my mom had to work for her meal. :) we had a bottle of cheap local wine which was one of my favorites of the entire vacation. It was a great experience. We had the place practically to ourselves. The staff was very friendly and prompt. The meal was one of the more expensive of our two week trip, but it was very memorable.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 7continentsby25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Slightly Nice Food, Slightly Small Portions, Slightly Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We found the food here to be decent but in no way memorable. Salt-cured salmon trout (2490 forints), an appetizer, was blandly satisfying. The pig shank (3680 forints) was on the lean and dry side, reasonably flavorful. It was small for a pig shank but an adequate size for a meal. I admire a robust and vigorous pig shank; this one was overly refined. Veal tenderloin (4690 forints) was good but decidedly a small portion. Wines were excellent. The apple and cranberry pancake (1490 forints) for dessert was good. Perhaps an "average" rating is not high enough to award Dio, but we felt that there was no passion for food here. It is the perfect place for a business dinner because the food is good but not noticeable enough to distract from the conversation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DancerGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
300 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Good spot for a business dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Dinner with a supplier, large table. Good service, excelelnt wine list with good choice of very good Hungarian wines - try them, don't stick with what you know - and good advice from waiter. The menu had a choice between two set dinners but no problem to choose from both. The gulyasleves is well worth having as a soup/starter. The libamaj was also very good. Altogether a good find. Enjoy

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger61Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dio Etterem also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Dio Etterem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing