We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced & average”

Sushi Sei Restaurant
Ranked #483 of 3,862 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Óbuda-Békásmegyer
Description: Dear Guests, Visit us and lose yourself in the unique taste of authentic Japanese cuisine. Besides irresistible meals, which are always made of fresh ingredients and prepared with special care, we kindly recommend traditional Japanese spirits, as perfect complements to our dishes. We await you with new courses, in addition to the popular and regular ones. While keeping to our traditions, we also put special emphasis on innovation and developing our menu to include a broad range of flavours. Our services have been extended by offering online ordering and home delivery in Budapest (further details can be found under the "Contact" menu). For our Corporate Partners we offer several variable bento plates for reasonable prices and our Restaurant Manager is always available to provide assistance. We also organise a number of different programs and special events, such as wedding celebrations, birthday parties, anniversaries, family events etc. Thank you for your honorable attention and we do hope that the experience will be to your comfort and satisfaction.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

After reading so many positive reviews I was looking forward to have a good Japanese dinner here. However, this place meant a real disappointment for me. The food average - not bad at all, but not authentic -, it is rather a kind of 75% Jap, 25% local stuff (eg. European style salad with some pieces of portsalute served for a bento box. Interesting...).
The atmosphere is something remained from the previous era. Half of the restaurant has no natural lights, some walls and the floor tiles are a bit worn-out, in addition in the back side you can hear constant rumble of something from above (bowling?). Music is no Japanese at all.
Service is below standard. After finishing the food we were sitting more than 30 minutes with no waiter coming (we entertained ourselves though :O))
I will not visit this place again; there are much better Japanese restaurants even in the 2nd district of Budapest.

Date of visit: November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ehegedus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 127 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have been eating out in this place for at least a decade. The quality has always been the same: just great. Friendly staff, best food, nice choice. We prefer the bentos, which give you a full wide variety of food at a reasonable price.

Date of visit: September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank TiborTimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

It really is just average food. I mean, don't get me wrong, the food there is probably better than many restaurants in Budapest (just because food here is so bad). But, if you were expecting really good Japanese food, forget it. Just expect an overpriced average experience.

The lunch I had costed me 5000 Ft. It was just a Bento box.

Wouldn't go there again.

Date of visit: September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EmeraldWarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

One of the best sushi place in Budapest, never had problem with their food.

Date of visit: May 2012
3  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We have frequented this place many times. And though the sushi is just ok, by Budapest standards it was good (my wife is Japanese). But a recent experience has turned us sour. We bought a gift certificate for friends that had done us a big favor. The gift certificate was purchased from the owner, Mr Han. If fact he personally wrote it out on a business card as they do not have formal gift cards. He wrote it out for 5000 HUF but when my wife corrected him saying she wanted twice that -- he scratched it out and rewrote it for 10,000 HUF. My wife was worried and asked if that was ok. . . and he said of course he was the owner and even stamped and signed the back.
Last night the couple and their two children (age 2 and 5) tried to use the certificate after having dinner and he LOST IT. He accused them of forgery -- said they had scratched out the 5000 Huf and replaced it with 10,000. He berated them and yelled at them in front of the crowd at the restaurant and kept calling them crooks. They would have been happy to quietly pay the 5000 huf difference but he wanted no part of that and said he should call the police. Children are now crying, our friend is so embarrassed she starts to cry. Long story short -- he finally accepts the 5000 HUF difference and they go home.
My wife calls him and reminds him of his correction on the Gift Certificate (we are now living in Tokyo and call from here). He yells at her on the phone and repeatedly hangs up. Needless to say 10,000 HUF we never should have spent. Beware of Mr.Han, his temper and his business practices. Oh and the sushi is not really worth the trip.

Date of visit: March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
13  Thank BudaTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Sei Restaurant also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Sushi Sei Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing