We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Italian food in Budapest”
Review of Trattoria Toscana

Trattoria Toscana
Ranked #75 of 3,160 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Trattoria Toscana and it's adjacent L'enoteca Wine bar are beautifully located along the Danube river and offer you excellent, authentic Tuscan cuisine and top quality Italian and Hungarian wines. Our friendly, multi-lingual staff pay special attention to your needs and enjoy helping to create a pleasurable dining experience for you. Buon Apetito!
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian food in Budapest”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We normally prefer to taste local food when we're on holiday, but Hungarian food is quite heavy after a while, so we decided to check out this Italian by the Danube. What a surprise! The menu lists lots of original dishes, like calamari soup or penne with spicy beef slices, parmezan and ruccola. And the food was really very very good. The only thing you have to consider while ordering: like in most restaurants in Budapest the portions are huge.
The staff is friendly and the decor traditional and warm (although the airco was too cold for a november evening). I would like to have an Italian restaurant like this next to my house :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kurt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    347
    91
    39
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conifer
Level Contributor
125 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Friends recommended this place as a place to stop and enjoy when we were recently in town. First thing once we arrived in "Buda", we asked our front desk to call and secure a reservation for us. Closely located to the river, after a day of wondering the streets and taking in the sights of "Buda", we ended our day with drinks and dinner.

The place really cute!!! It was wicked busy when we got there, and our first thought of our waiter was we hated him. He was jammin', the place crazy and we wanted more of his time. Eventually our hate turned into love and he was the best!

We ate bread, we ate bean soup, we ate fish soup, we ate fish, we the pasta, we drank wine, and more wine. Each offering as tasty as the next.

He brought us Lemoncello, and more Lemoncello.

Anyway, if you can, make a reservation, absorb the goodness offered in this fine establishment. Be sure to give yourself time... as you don't want to rush any bit of it. Bon Appetit!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Casbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stouffville, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Good Food, Good Atmosphere”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

A great menu of homestyle food in a tremendous setting. Our host was most gracious and accommodated our large group I(15) without difficulty. I would go there again in a heartbeat. Dave from Stouffville, Ont., Canada.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Warm inviting atmosphere, The food was very good, well prepared, unique in presentation and taste. One of the great experiences we had in Budapest
Don from Guelph

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“friendly italian”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Friendly restaurant, lovely authentic italian, and a great place to find vegetables in carnivorous Budapest!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Toscana also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Trattoria Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing