We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a hidden gem”
Review of Magyar Qtr

Magyar Qtr
Ranked #129 of 3,774 Restaurants in Budapest
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Reviewed January 3, 2020

Hands down one of the best restaurants in town.
Located pretty much along the Danube, the restaurant (though) small has nothing short of an appealing charm.
The staff is extremely friendly and welcoming, and the service is just impeccable.
The goulash is one of the best, if not the best, and it would an excellent idea to pair it with a nice red wine. Despite a rather awkward presentation, the tartare was just delightful and an excellent follow up to the soup.
For the main, the beef medallion, Budapest style, is a must-try.
I made the mistake of ordering it medium, when that particular cut ought to have a been a medium rare, at most. It is important to note that is comes with a piece of grilled goose liver, which is already quite filling.
The apple dessert turned out to be the perfect finish!
If you ever decide to drop in and you are lucky enough to have Richard serving you, you can fully trust him in the food recommendations, as well as the wine (wow).
Tip: The place is quite small, so you may want to book in advance.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Nassif K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2020 via mobile

Amazing little Hungarian restaurant in Budapest! We visited on 30th December and were not disappointed. Drinks, food and service was amazing! Would recommend duck liver, mangalica pork, beef Budapest and you must try the palinka. Make sure you reserve a table though as it is very small inside.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank KaylsH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2019

The food is traditional Hungarian (mostly). It's beautifully cooked, well presented and reasonably priced. I had the tenderloin steak with an amazing paprika-based sauce... it was perfect! And despite being by a mile, the most expensive item on the menu, still only £20 (8,000 forints).
But it was the little details that earned to 5* rating; the decor, the service and to my never-ending delight the cheese on the cheeseboard was was actually served at room temperature! Oh joy!!

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GCM1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2019 via mobile

Cozy, comfortable place with really good food. We each had goulash soup, very good, then split a chicken supreme which was extra good. Service good and very helpful for tips to navigate the city. Worth a stop if you’re in the area

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank Laurie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2019

Visited this restaurant with my daughter on Wednesday night. The service was good and the food surpassed our expectations. The goulash and steak tartar were to die for, pork knuckle was tender, moist and melt in the mouth with lovely crispy skin, and mangalica pork was cooked perfectly and served with interesting sides. Couldn't fault any of the dishes we have had on the night. I would recommend this restaurant to all my friends without hesitation. A must try in Budapest!!

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nomurar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magyar Qtr also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Magyar Qtr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.