We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Restaurant”
Review of Comme Chez Soi

Comme Chez Soi
Ranked #6 of 3,161 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Comme Chez Soi is an Traditional Italian restaurant.Goose liver specialities.Serving Italian and Hungarian dishes following family's recipes.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable Restaurant”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a family dinner in this restaurant. The only word we can say is AMAZING.
Very delicious Italian food. The owner is a positive person, who navigate precise your choice. The price is extremely low combined with a good service and well cooked meal. The restaurant is a very good choice for dinner in the heart of Budapest.

Helpful?
1 Thank Veselin G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

4,088 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,661
    246
    92
    34
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“I "must do" while in Budapest”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

What do we look for in a restaurant?
Great food, great service, great atmosphere, good price.
This restaurant EXCEEDS all of the above.
The owner is always there and tends to everyone personally. Treats each and every table of guests like they are the most important table in the restaurant.
Will always return to eat at Comme Chez Soi.
We went for our 10th wedding anniversary dinner whilel in Budapest. Roberto sure made it an occasion to remember.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wrxcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best dinner during our trip!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We found this restaurant via TA, and since we were in the Deak Ferenc Ter area (and we were hungry), we decided to give it a go. The place looks humble from the outside, and has limited seats. We were lucky to get a table for 2 (everything else seemed to be reserved) and we were welcomed with some complementary champagne.

I guess one of the best things about this restaurant is the fact that the owner, Roberto, is very friendly and welcoming, and service was outstanding. Plus, the food was excellent. We got some amuse buche to start, and I was very happy with my carpaccio. The main courses were delicious as well (we had salmon with 2 types of rice, as well as spaghetti alle vongole). After that we were given some lemon sorbet as a palate cleanser, chocolates, and some very tasty dessert wine. We ended our dinner with their impeccable tiramisu.

All in all, we paid around €56 euros (2 apps + 2 mains + 1 dessert + coke + water). GREAT value for money. The freebies were a nice touch too, it really showed how friendly the owner is and how he wants his customers to have a good dining experience in his restaurant. At some point during our dinner, a couple asked for a table but the restaurant was packed, so the owner and the waiters ended up setting them a table outside, so they could dine immediately. That's what I call good service, I guess elsewhere you can here people say "Oh sorry, we're fully booked."

This restaurant should be ranked higher, and if you're in Budapest... you MUST eat here. Reservations recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doublebagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wageningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful dining experience”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The owner is extremely warm hearted and helpful, the dishes are exquisite! We got lots of free small dishes such as drinks, chocolate and ice cream after dinner. Worth of a shot in Budapest!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nordiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, cosi place amazing owner! Must eat place.”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I visited this restaurant 4 times within 2 years. The food was always amazing. We have been recommended to try the duck liver with apples and mash it's the bomb of this restaurant. Amazing service. Had pasta there few times delicious.

We are lactose intolerant and they always knew what to prepare for us so we don't leave unhappy eating some dried tomatoes. :-)

It has a great location next to the Marriott downtown, but in a hidden street at least you have privacy.

All thumbs up for this place the owner speaks at least 4 languages and been abroad for a long time as a chef he KNOWS what customers love.

We will be back soon.

PS: Today we left accidentally my wife's jewelery on the table and the waiter ran out and brought it to us. Love it; most of Hungarian places would just claim it wasn't there. Good feeling about this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chuck-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comme Chez Soi also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Comme Chez Soi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing