We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, cosi place amazing owner! Must eat place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comme Chez Soi

Comme Chez Soi
Ranked #2 of 3,044 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Comme Chez Soi is an Traditional Italian restaurant.Goose liver specialities.Serving Italian and Hungarian dishes following family's recipes.
Prague
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, cosi place amazing owner! Must eat place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I visited this restaurant 4 times within 2 years. The food was always amazing. We have been recommended to try the duck liver with apples and mash it's the bomb of this restaurant. Amazing service. Had pasta there few times delicious.

We are lactose intolerant and they always knew what to prepare for us so we don't leave unhappy eating some dried tomatoes. :-)

It has a great location next to the Marriott downtown, but in a hidden street at least you have privacy.

All thumbs up for this place the owner speaks at least 4 languages and been abroad for a long time as a chef he KNOWS what customers love.

We will be back soon.

PS: Today we left accidentally my wife's jewelery on the table and the waiter ran out and brought it to us. Love it; most of Hungarian places would just claim it wasn't there. Good feeling about this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chuck-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,460
    228
    87
    34
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best Dining Experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

How this is not ranked higher I have no idea. The wide range of Italian, Hungarian and French foods are excellent, and wines exquisite, the price well worth it, but what makes this place such a wonderful experience is the service. Roberto treats every guest like royalty and nothing is too much trouble. With the restaurant also being small (remember to book first!), it is like we are being invited into his house for dinner. His service has ensured every guest I have taken with me has confirmed my thoughts that this place is the best dining experience I have ever had. Well done Roberto and I look forward to seeing you again very soon!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JSigston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An absolute must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stumbled across the restaurant and what a delight it turned out to be! It was so good we returned a second time during our recent short stay in Budapest. Definitely recommend dining here, but make a booking as it is quite small. The owner is charming and the service and food impeccable, a few complimentary drinks, appetizers and chocolates and sorbets made for a very reasonable cost and definitely a highlight of our trip. Thank you so much.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kezza1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best ever foie gras!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Every visit to Budapest we visit this magnificent restaurant!
The food is delicious! Particularly good foie gras! very tasty and the portions are huge!
The owner of the restaurant will become your friend and will treat you with champagne and limoncello, Grappa and Tokaj wine!
That best foie gras ever!!!!
Must be see!

Prices in the restaurant are very reasonable!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 884888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Intimate!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our first night in Budapest and thanks to TA had booked in here. Just as well as it was full ( but it is small). Helpful waiting staff, great food which showed a sophistication but almost simple harmony of flavours which matched the really fresh ingredients so well. Loved it and a 48 euros for 3 courses and drinks is good value

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mismr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comme Chez Soi also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Comme Chez Soi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing