We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food fast service”
Review of Kyoto Restaurant

Kyoto Restaurant
Ranked #1,192 of 3,237 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: Japanese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: We offer You high quality masterpieces of the Asian kitchen art, and theexciting FUSION of traditional Japanese and Thai cuisine and sushies adapted to themodern western taste world, as well as authentic Thai foods. Obviously, these areoffered together with wonderful wines, unique cocktails and premium drinks.We are waiting for you between noon and five o’clock in the afternoon onworkdays with the selection of really great variety of foods at reasonable prices.On Sundays we provide unique opportunity with our “all you can eat “offerfor not only sushi-lovers, but also for the ones, who intend to get acquainted withthe world of sushi. Between 13:00 and 16:00 on Sundays, qualified personnel isavailable in order to provide for the enthusiastic entertainment and the caretakingof children.Moreover, our restaurant is located at one of the most beautiful places of thetown, at the bridgehead of the Lánchíd (Chain Bridge) on Pest side, in the neighbourhoodof the Gresham Palace. There is a wonderful view from the guest roomboth over the Castle Quarter of Buda and the Chain Bridge, as well as over theMatthias Church.Our restaurant offers seats for 100-110 persons at the same time, with tablesboth for smokers and non-smokers obviously; so we can provide space both forsmall companies consisting of few people, and large groups as well.
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food fast service”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My fav dish is the agadhsi tofu which not easy to find in some places where you have Asian fusion food...this place has it...beside the Sushis and sashimis they have great selection of Thai food also...chicken cashew nuts is delicious....they have a good price business lunch menu which I recommend a lot

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skfmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    52
    34
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asnières sur Seine
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top top top !”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Great deco, great service, good choice and very good food quality ! We tried sashimis, gyoza and maki : all great (our number 2 worldwide !)

Helpful?
Thank Anne-Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wiesbaden, Germany
2 reviews
“A top choice for Asian Fusion in Budapest”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I tried this place while staying in the close by Intercon hotel. We ordered an udon dish and a couple rolls of sushi... It was a fantastic meal and well worth the price. After living with horrible sushi in Germany this place was a delight! Make sure to try the homemade ice tea (we had the mango flavor). Also, the ambiance is quite nice. They had a live dj playing playing regular music, nothing wacky. Eat here!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Creative sushi in trendy setting”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Kyoto, now Tokio, is one of my most favourite restaurants in Budapest. I love the fact that you can select your sushi but not only sushi also curries and stir fries based on photos and the food looks exactly the same and taste even better. Friday and Saturday nights are usually very busy so I recommend booking. Great cocktails also.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“A Sad Change”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Beware, it is no longer Kyoto, the name was changed to Tokyo. Same owners though, only somewhat refurbished. However, I was unhappy for the first time - service unattentive in an almost empty restaurant (five waiters, six guests), wine list notably shorter than before and most importantly, the sushi and sashimi quality went down. Tuna sashimi, my usual favorite there, was a very mediocre piece of akami... I must reduce my previous 12 on a 1-20 scale to 11-. To add insult to injury, they joined the widespread new Budapest practice to add service fee to the bill, 12% in their case.

Surely no longer among the best Japanese restaurants in Central Europe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ZahtevniGost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyoto Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Kyoto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing