We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food and brilliant atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ket Szerecsen

Ket Szerecsen
Ranked #54 of 3,090 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Terézváros
Description: Unique atmosphere in the middle of the city just by the stunning Andrássy Avenue. International and Mediterranean cuisine mixed with Hungarian style and Hungarian ingredients.Be our guest for breakfast,lunch and dinner or just for a cup of coffee. We are at your service with icy refreshers, nice wines and friendly ambiance.
Scotland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“good food and brilliant atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We found this by chance and decided to head along for dinner after seeing how popular this was every time we passed.

The main courses did not disappoint - we had the rabbit riollade andn the pig cheek - both were beautifully cooked and as tender as could be. The mash & red wine gravy with the pig cheek was to die for.

The plum strudel was made in heaven I am sure. The goulash soup was thin and not what was expected. The red wine was lovely.

This is a vibrant bistro kitchen type place - it just buzzes and is really lovely.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onlovewithparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    859
    503
    88
    27
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Easy Menu, Average Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Hungarian goulash soup was served piping hot but it was weak on flavor. Spaghetti pasta was homemade and tasty. The spaghetti sauce was tasty but seemed to have had some cream in it which made a bit sweet for my taste. Skimpy bread portion. Leg of lamb with sweet potatoes and spinach was quite tasty. Pork chops were equally tasty. The service was professional and accommodating. The restrooms were clean, The prices were less expensive than those 'on castle hill'. Went on a Friday evening, should have made reservations as we had to sit outside in the cafe area. Nice but a bit chilly. Would return but not immediately. So many other places to try!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lmsgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A restful place to dine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

After a busy day touring the bustling city of Budapest, the Szerecsen was a delightful respite, not to mention the delicious food! My fellow travelers and I enjoyed our dinner so much that we went back the next day for lunch. The staff was attentive and the atmosphere relaxing. Even though we did not have reservations, it is probably a good idea because the dinning area is small.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherrie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice location, excellent tapas.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Good location, close to Andrassy avenue. We ordered vegetarian Tapas, nice portion, very tasty, we are no vegetarians, but we did not miss any meat in these tapas. Cosy, warm, interesting interior.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sampy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I went to that bistro many times because I had courses in the morning on Andrassy street and I came there for lunch menu which also wasn't too expensive.

I think the best time to come is in the daytime, then it is calm and charming. The foods are good.
What I appreciate the most is cleanliness. The service is not that ignorant than in many places in the city center.

In the evening it may become crowded and noisy.

Basically, recommended, I know that locals like to go there, too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Karli_Iskakova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ket Szerecsen also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Ket Szerecsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing