We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable”
Review of Ket Szerecsen

Ket Szerecsen
Ranked #55 of 3,121 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Terézváros
Description: Unique atmosphere in the middle of the city just by the stunning Andrássy Avenue. International and Mediterranean cuisine mixed with Hungarian style and Hungarian ingredients.Be our guest for breakfast,lunch and dinner or just for a cup of coffee. We are at your service with icy refreshers, nice wines and friendly ambiance.
Drogheda Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

11 ladies just back from 3 nights in Budapest - our 2nd night we ate at Ket Szerecsen - food was excellent, service excellent no complaints on that front - I would have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant - - our only critism was that there was not enough space between tables - we felt tightly packed into an area -

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perpetua_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    883
    514
    91
    27
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
160 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Went there after the opera house and was pleased to know that we didn't have to wait for our table. The service was great and the meal was really good. We had all the recommended dishes and the fish dish we had was really good. I also tried Tokaji wine there and it was so delicious.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mayonaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ket_Szerecsen, Manager at Ket Szerecsen, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Mayonaka,

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased to know how satisfied were you here!

Look forward to meet you again,

Két Szerecsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a very romantic setting”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The meal that we had at Ket Szerecsen was the best dinner that we had by a long mile during our trip in Budapest! Upon entry to the place it reminds you of a typical French bistro restaurant with the way that the decor is presented. Lighting is dim with candles on each table, with soft lounge music playing out of the speakers. The setting is, as you can imagine, very romantic and cosy, especially away from the cold weather outside and after a long day of walking and sightseeing.

Food was all impeccably cooked and full of flavour. For mains, we had the roast pig with lentils and beetroot sauce and the salmon. The salmon was cooked well and tasted very fresh, but we both agreed that the roast pig dish was absolutely top notch. Presentation was beautiful and the tenderness of the meat even more so. The taste when eaten together with the lentils was fantastic and I could've eaten another dish of it if I wasn't as health conscious as I was! Dessert was similar to the main in that it was well presented and full of flavour. Out of the two we had, I would definitely recommend the chocolate souffle dish with ice cream. The chocolate taste was deep but not too rich and with the ice cream gave it a slightly more smoother taste.

Drinks wise we had their fantastic mulled wine. Overall a fantastic dining experience, with prices very reasonable, and we will definitely be returning on our next trip to Budapest!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonAlexanderOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ket_Szerecsen, Manager at Ket Szerecsen, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Mr. Ong,

We appreciate very much for your review and glad to know that we made you very satisfied.
We hope so that you return when come again to Budapest!

Look forward to meet you!

Két Szerecsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilderland, New York
Level Contributor
157 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Hungarian foor and excellent service”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I was there during St Martin's day weekend. So I had the chance to sample some goose dishes as well as the new wine selection. Everything was perfect and the service was outstanding.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Globewarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
170 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Sunday night treat”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

On a recent trip to Budapest we were actually heading for another restaurant when we came across the Ket Szerecsen. It was dark and cold and the lights of the restaurant shone out giving out a very welcoming appearance. On going in we immediately liked the lively atmosphere and decided to stay. We had to accept a table among smokers but it wasn't really a problem. We only had one course but there was a good range of dishes, with emphasis on delicious pasta (homemade tagliatelle with chicken & spinach etc). There was a reasonable wine list. We thought the service was very good and we were able to linger over our wine after we had eaten. Two girls next to us only had coffees and the waiter didn't seem to mind how long they stayed. We were tempted by the desserts but resisted!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ket Szerecsen also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Ket Szerecsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing