We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Pata Negra - Pest

Pata Negra - Pest
Ranked #190 of 3,121 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Tapas y copas – Hungary’s first tapas bar opened its doors in 2004 in Budapest, at Kálvin Square. Authentic Spanish atmosphere and flavors are waiting for you with the finest delicacies of Spain in the heart of the city: wines of various protected geographical indications, hams, cheeses, as well as meat and fish meals prepared according to Spanish recipes. We also offer a uniquely large selection of vegetarian, lactose- and glucose-free dishes.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Awesome little tapas bar by Kalvin ter. The food is excellent, especially the duck breast with apple, the cream spinach and the fried goat cheese! They also have a great organic wine which I don't remember the name of. We eat here all the time, never payed more than 7000 ft, and that's wine included... Staff is friendly and nice, atmosphere is great. Book table in advance

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pezand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    194
    69
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bodo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful tapas place”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We went to the past branch on a Saturday afternoon, the place is crowded so you have to book in advance. The food is wonderful, they have lovely sangria and many different tapas dishes. We ordered 10 different dishes for 3 persons, they were all good. The price is very reasonable. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thetimetravelergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
202 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“taste of Spain”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Amazing.
it is really!
the place is so nice, so warm, so perfect for a dinner...right in the city center...staff very polite and ready to help...food is delicious (excpet patatas bravas...really different from the real ones) and it's pretty nice to have something so spanish to go to eat to.
Customers are from 20s to 50s and usually really nice and good looking persons...I was there during a business trip and I have to say that the choice was absolutely right.
I will come back once in Budapest again!
Just a comment: unfortunately no credit/debit card allowed...only cash. Possible to pay in Euro but exchange rate is totally far from the reality and the change would be in HUF...but don't worry...there are plenty ATM right around the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank backpacker_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Spent a nice evening at this tapas bar. Found the atmosphere to be busy and bustling, if a little noisy, but this tends to come with this style of food/eatery. Service was good, and dishes were brought out steadily. Food overall was very good, although a few of the dishes lacked a bit of flavour we thought. Best dishes were patatas bravas, the meatballs and the duck breast with the balsamic reduction - all very tasty. Overall we enjoyed the meal we had here, but did find it to be a little on the expensive side compared with other restaurants we ate at in Budapest.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xlynnbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent place!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was there twice during my stay in Budapest ... so far:)Excellent, tasty food prepared with the best ingredients; relaxing atmosphere and extremely well organized kitchen/waiters that will not let you wait for food long make this place an ideal choice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankMackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pata Negra - Pest also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Pata Negra - Pest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing