We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Food, impeccable serice, warm refined atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kiskakukk Etterem

Kiskakukk Etterem
Ranked #114 of 3,080 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
vstrip
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Traditional Food, impeccable serice, warm refined atmosphere”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

With the advice of a local, we selected this restaurant to experience a fine dining evening of traditional Hungarian food. It was wonderful. My husband had beef and I had chicken -- I'm sorry I can't remember the proper Hungarian names but both were delicious. The service was impeccable and warm, and the atmosphere is lovely, very European without being stuffy or intimidating. Highly recommended for a memorable evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    197
    49
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect food in a perfect restaurant”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Have tried some higher ranked restaurant in Budapest earlier, and this one is definitely much better! All main courses are excellent, especially the "Tenderloin stuffed with bolete mushroom cream served with goose liver in Cabernet sauce,grilled vegetables and Mediterranean potatoes". Strongly recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesleybati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprising food in great atmosphere.”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were a group of 12 people and all of us, without exception, had great food and no complaints. I would recommend you try it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cearm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
255 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Quality Impeccable!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The last time we were here was 5 years ago, we were so happy to return, and be recognized by the waiters! We invited some friends for dinner, and this is a very typical Hungarian refined dishes. Delicious traditional food and desserts, and we had a very good Hungarian wine GERE Villanyi..excellent with Hungarian food. The restaurant 's ambiance is also one of the reason we keep on returning to this place. It has this old decor, very nostalgic ambiance ..a very good place for a romantic dinner, lunch, or dinner with friends. Excellent, and very warm reception .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adelaida Gigi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Exceptionally good food, nice premises, and very friendly staff! Traditional hungarian food. We loved it. Great and very recommendable place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ttom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiskakukk Etterem also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Kiskakukk Etterem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing