We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing food with unfriendly waiting staff”
Review of Balettcipo

Balettcipo
Ranked #838 of 3,121 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Central European, Bar, Pub, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hampshire
Level Contributor
230 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“disappointing food with unfriendly waiting staff”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

we stopped here for supper as the menu looked promising but didn't deliver. The waiter was unfriendly and his English was incredibly poor this made if very difficult to make ourselves understood. My husband ordered the Herefordshire beef which he enjoyed although it came only on a bed of vegetables without any potato or rice accompaniment. I ordered the burger which came well presented but was never asked how I wanted it. when it arrived it was raw inside, to call it blue would be an understatement. I had cut it open to discover this and when I took it back to the counter the man behind the bar just said oh dear. it was brought back cooked but dripping with grease and it was the same piece I had cut open so the cheese that was on the top was now totally over cooked, this made the whole plate swim with grease and what potentially could have been a very nice meal became unappetising. the waiter seemed totally put out by our presence. do feel we wouldn't have eaten here had we been able to access reviews on trip advisor first as it seems others have had the same issues. if its cheap and cheerful your looking for then this is probably the place for you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    14
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A mixed bag - front of house staff needs improving and charged DOUBLE for wine”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We ate here as the menu looked flexible and interesting. Unfortunately, it was one of those place that over-promises and under-delivers. The waiter acted as if we had inconvenienced him by coming in. We asked to sit upstairs and he said no, it was reserved, yet several other parties came in and were accommodated there.

We had burgers and they could have been so much better - hot, for a start. The meat was of good quality but we were asked how we'd like them cooked and despite expressing our preferences, they both came medium rare. The fries were cold - they had either been reheated or left lying on the plates too long before being served.

We ordered a glass of white wine each - listed on the blackboard as 600fts. But we were charged 1200 per glass. When we queried this, we were told we'd been served a double measure (which we weren't told in advance and didn't ask for). It wasn't a big enough amount to make a fuss over and the wine was good, but it left me feeling ripped off. And yes, they do add service charge. We went at a time they weren't busy and the service was still pretty poor. The waiter's attitude was as if he was tolerating us - he even corrected my husband who tried to pronounce the Hungarian wine we fancied - and not in a nice, jokey way!

Deserts were very good.

A real shame since the food looked good on paper but front of house really needs to smarten up as it's letting the kitchen down. The owners should get out front and see how their image / brand is being undermined.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MortonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ok only”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Although recommended by our accommodation, we were underwhelmed by the Balettcipo. Not great value, a few dishes on the short menu were unavailable so our first meal out in Budapest was a bit of a disappointment. There are plenty of other places nearby, so I recommend looking a bit further.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Captain_Cook_9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would like to go back 'Balettcipő'”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We tried the Balettcipő restaurant and it was wonderful. The courses was okay, but the service was perfect, the best we ever had at Budapest. In addition, we had the chance to try delicious hungarian wines. Thanx a lot,
Rob & Kate

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Avoid Balettcipő”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went for the 3 course fixed price menu. Goulash soup was ok but duck was downright awful. It was so dry, meat was brittle and I couldn't cut through it. Potato mash was almost cold, also dry and tasteless. Other dish ordered was chicken....fair but nothing special. With all the wonderful restaurants in Budapest, no reason to eat here...we feel like we wasted one of our dining nights here. Avoid.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balettcipo also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Balettcipo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing