We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing food, exceptional service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Csalogany 26 Etterem

Csalogany 26 Etterem
Ranked #193 of 3,044 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: European, Central European, Hungarian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District I / Buda
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“amazing food, exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We had one of the most lovely dinners of our lives here. The food was delicious, fresh and perfectly prepared. We both had the 4 course meal and it was a good amount of food. While this is not in-expensive, it was an excellent value given the elegant courses and professional staff. If we visit Budapest again, we will certainly come back here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zucca77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    88
    20
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
141 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Better than it looks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Very poor atmoshere at good restaurant. Modern hungarian kitchen. Problematical ambience. Very good degustation menu. Staff is good at work.
Recommend you to visit at the time of lunch

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bohdan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overrated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We were here with a group of friends for dinner celebrating ones birthday. We went for a shortened four course meal with the assorted vine selection. The concept is nice and the food is also an experience, however the service is not up to such standards.
There is little interaction with the waiters and the presentation lacks personality. I was expecting more enthusiasm and engagement form a highly rated place like this one. The guys in the kitchen are doing a good job but the front of house concept needs a shakeup, or they will soon loose the appeal the star has given them. The ambiance could also be enhanced., it comes across as a bit to sterile.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cosmopolice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not what you expect from a michelin star place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

The place is very nice, staff pleasant, but didn't ask once whether everything was OK. Food slightly above average, not amazing. The unbelievable part was, when we were offered a homemade lemonade and I swear we got the stuff you make out of a Berocca tablet (that kind of multivitamin that disolves in water) I even took a picture, because I didn't think anybody would believe me... It was bright yellow coming to the table, that was when I noticed this does not look OK and when I tasted I just had to laugh, couldnt even make myself ask what was going on, on a second thought i should've aske for a recipe for this homemade lemonade... :-)))

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food and nice wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is a little noce place, not big and looks modest. You have to know about it to find it. But it is definitively worth a visit. This will become a Micheline star sooner than later. It is opened as many good hungarian reataurants just from 12-15 and 19-22. Would refpmmend booking in the weekends. It has only two menues, and You can choose four or eight cources with fitting wine package. The food was just heavenly matched with wine and very memorable. The cost was also reasonable for such a culinary joy. We will come back for more soon for sure :-)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingwithteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Csalogany 26 Etterem also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Csalogany 26 Etterem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing