We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant”

Csalogany 26 Etterem
Ranked #206 of 3,204 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French, Hungarian, Fusion, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: District I / Buda
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Eat at this restaurant about two weeks ago and it was a very good experience. We had the 8 course tasting menu (which actually turned out to be 11 courses). They are all small courses but beautifully presented and very delicious. Theres also lots of homemade bread on offer if you get a bit peckish. We had the wine package which means you get a different wine with most of the courses. The wines were also excellent and each one was fully described to us, including where in hungary it came from and how it would complement the food.

The place was nice, if a little too light (the lighting could have done with being a little more subdued). The staff were excellent, spoke very good english and were very attentive, even though it was busy that night.

It wasn't cheap but at about £46 per person, including the wine, we thought it was very good value for the standard of food, wine and service.

My only slight complaint was that the service was a little fast at times - would have been nice to have a little longer between some of the courses. But all in all I would have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred10Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    89
    21
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tasting menu failed to meet expectations”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had the 8 course tasting menu II. Very small portions, not much above average taste. At $55 + tip in Budapest I expect to have a "VOW" -- yet it never happened during this meal. Luckily I ate enough bread to satisfy my stomach. The $40 4 course tasting menu is probably intended for birds... The waiters are friendly, though. I offer only 3 stars due to the unreasonable cost.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mh972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our best experience in Budapest - highly recommended!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant for lunch, and had a four course menu with wine. Great food, good wine, excellent service and excellent value for money. We immediately made reservations for dinner the next night. For dinner we had the eight course menu with wine. This was by far the best restaurant we visited during the week we stayed in Budapest.

The portions are small, like they should be when serving an eight course menu, and the food is modern with very light and fresh tastes. The sommelier was very knowledgeable, and did a great job pairing the wine with the food. Service was excellent, and when we asked the sommelier for suggestions on which Hungarian wines we should buy to bring back home, he wrote down a list for us and even gave us directions to the wineshop closest to our hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Torawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
“Great food at an even better price”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We went to Csalogany for a quick lunch.

Although we were seriously underdressed (hiking clothes, plus it had been raining), the staf was very friendly. We ordered the menu of the day (3 courses at 2.500HUF) and immediately received some sparkling water and bread.

The soup was hot and could use some extra seasoning, the main course (salmon with fried courgette) was very tasty. Normally I'm not a fine of rice pudding, but the pudding we got here, was delicious!

We frequently eat in restaurants back home, but the price/quality you get at Csalogany 26 is simply unbelievable!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1978tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, Usa
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A disappointment, plain food”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

A total waste of time and money. We went there for lunch based on a guidebook recommendation. It was a total disappointment! The soups are out of a tetrapak spruced up with some green garnish and have nothing in them but a watery broth. The two second courses we tried were both very plain and one was undercooked. Given the variety of lunch options in Budapest, and out of the way location of this place, it really is not worth the trip. High prices for spruced up canned food!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3CuteVagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Csalogany 26 Etterem also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Csalogany 26 Etterem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing