We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good restaurant”

Csalogany 26 Etterem
Ranked #205 of 3,121 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: European, Central European, Hungarian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District I / Buda
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good reataurant, but it has no atmosphere. The menu is very short, it is difficult to choose from it.
But the food is very nice, the sevice is perfect. It is too expansive for a local.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    88
    20
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Eat here!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just do it. We've just returned from a week's holiday split between Budapest and Prague, and this restaurant was easily the best we visited. This was a thoroughly professional restaurant of the highest standard. The staff were highly knowledeable and efficient, and friendly without being overfussy. The food on the tasting menu was absolutely top class, and the wine pairings bang on and beautiful. We ate at a top rated Prague restaurant on our last night there, which had a lot more swank, a lot more chat from the waiter, and a beautiful view. Csalogany 26 doesn't have a view or as much swank, though the presentation is excellent; the food was better, though, the wines much better, and the Prague restaurant cost twice as much. Fantastic value. Go there!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank magsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth making the trip for lunch”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had the set lunch at 2500 - a real bargain! Great food and good local wine with the emphasis on ingredients and excellent preparation. we had a bean soup and then beef with spatzle and finally basil marscapone. All that for less than 10 euro!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RosaBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely and excellent restaurant”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

The food was really great and they offered us an appetizer and the desert. The staff was lovely. They spoke at least a good English and French. I would recommend it for sure!!

Helpful?
2 Thank marjosc
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Extensive menu with local wine - very good value”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had the 8 course tasting menu which in fact turned out to be more like an 11 course menu, considering pre-desserts, etc. The wine selection was surprisingly good - in all honesty we did not expect much from the Hungarian wines based on past experiences. The staff was efficient and friendly, food very good (although not exceptional in any way) and one of the more good value meals we have ever had.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Csalogany 26 Etterem also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Csalogany 26 Etterem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing