We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing wine selection and great food to boot!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Klassz

Klassz
Ranked #86 of 3,044 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: European, Wine Bar, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Andrássy út
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing wine selection and great food to boot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is one of the more expensive places to eat in Budapest but it's well worth the money. The food is presented beautifully but more importantly the flavour is top quality. Try the pan fried fois gras with some Hungarian Tokai Aszu, it will blow you mind and your taste buds!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Soup84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    659
    390
    83
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarau,Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food & wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Really happy we checked this out. We enjoyed a delicious dinner with very good wine our waitress recomended. We decided to sit in the back, surrounded by wine botttles plus Gainsbourg playing ih the background... The food is hugarian and so are the wines but does not have that turist trap feel, it feels authentic. Must stop by on your next trip to budapest!

Helpful?
Thank APHJ80
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Slagelse, Denmark
Level Contributor
193 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“good keeping of the standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is the only venture into the restoration busienss by the Budapest Wine Society. It is a bistro-type restaurant, open from midday until evening, and has a wine bar settign in the back. You can also buy wine to take away. The food is of more than decnet quality - a little on the meaty side. I guess a windening of the vegetarian selection would be appreciated - right now your choice is only fish (two kinds available when visiting) or a single vegetarian dish. I had the perch and it was well prepared. Still… but this meat-bias is typical of Budapest (Hungarian) restaurants.
Service is very good, and the wine selection also. Does not accept reservations, so I would not risk it at dinnertime, but excellent for a late lunch or early dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GaborLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

I liked this place - not very big, but there is enough space and I liked couch bench along bar tables. I ordered duck breasts with vegetable strudel and it was great. Prices are reasonable too. Good service.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larisa, Greece
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Been there for a late wine and a cheese plate. We found empty the only an unseated table and had our seat. When the waiter came to serve us was very rude probably because we sat without letting him first make the table. I do not know, he kept on being sour the rest of our stay.
The place is very cosy and if you have the chance you may sit at the back where the wine cellar is.
We had a bottle of a very good Hungarian rose wine (Konyari) and some cheese. The place was full of people.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mixalios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Klassz also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Klassz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing