We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French-style bistro in central Budapest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Klassz

Klassz
Ranked #84 of 3,044 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: European, Wine Bar, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Andrássy út
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“French-style bistro in central Budapest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Charming bistro in the very centre of Budapest.
Pros: great lunch menu on weekdays for only 990 HUF; reasonable a la carte prices despite the location; terrace overlooking Andrássy avenue; good atmosphere; pretty good wine shop at the back of the restaurant.
Cons: Sometimes slow staff (especially if you sit outside); poor communication (no phone number available, no table reservation); the tapestry on the wall is slightly too eclectic to my taste; small (best for couples or small groups up to 4 people).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stucni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    659
    390
    83
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“So tasty first class food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

If you look for quality food, this is your place. I loved the food so much and enjoyed every bite. I could feel they paid attention to the details. We tried two dishes: rack of lamb with creamy champignon and thyme mashed potato and trout fillet with serrano ham and french beans. The lamb was amazing, so soft and together with the sauce and and the mashed potato it was a really good combination. Trout was excellent as well, especially its side dish. I would order them again. It is not cheap, but still fairly priced I think (12-14 EUR per dish). The menu has other interesting courses so I am sure we will come back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Koala_Traveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“OMG - Duck Foie Gras to die for...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The last evening in Budapest after a hectic week of training...we were taken to this restaurant by my colleagues!! Imagine, in a quant restaurant surroundes by fantastic predominantly Hungarian wines and served getting food to die for! This is the best Foie Gras starter I have ever had in my life. Each mouthful was savoured with intense pleasure. I enjoyed it so much that I did not even offer to share my food - which is definitely not me!!! The main course of fish was also devine followed by lovely dessert. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone. The food accompanied by the right wine for each of the courses (we had a wine connoisseur in our midst) was fabulous!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 5ATeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had dinner here on Saturday night and really enjoyed it. We recommended it to friends who had lunch the next day which they also loved.
The food is Hungarian inspired and really good. The only down point was that we waited a long time for them to take our order and also to bring the bill, so maybe this place is not so good if you have limited time. Other than that, it was a great place and we would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 55AmandaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Lovely place to eat. We went in the evening. The staff speak great English and are very knowledgeable and willing to help match your wine to your meal. Lovely choice of wines on offer and the food is first rate. I had the duck - it was succulent and tasty. Be prepared to perch on a high table and chairs next to the bar (lovely atmosphere) as seems to get busy quickly. Great value for money - go there and see for yourself! Couldn't recommend highly enough.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Klassz also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Klassz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing