We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous aparment, close to sights, helpful owner!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Stars Budapest Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous aparment, close to sights, helpful owner!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My mother in law, sister in law and myself stay here in May of 2012.
This is a gorgeous luxury apartment...lovely decorating, paintings on the walls done by the owner, comfortable and close to everything. There are stairs up to the apartment but not a problem at all. It is so close to all the sights that this is the last thing to worry about. The main shopping district street is very close and there are tons of bars, restaurants and coffee shops in the area. Tomas had a driver pick us up at the train station (for a fee) so it was no worries at all.
You can easily walk across the chain bridge to Buda side and see all the sights there.
Or take a night time cruise on the river to see the beautiful lights at night. You can walk over to the boats very easily. Just go ahead and rent this apartment. You will not be disappointed. Owner Tomas was very helpful with giving us information on things to do in the area. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    33
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
117
256
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had the privildge of staying in Tomas' Golden Stars Dream Apartment located at the end of Vaci Utca close to the grand market. The apartment is also close to the Szabadság híd or Liberty Bridge connecting Buda and Pest across the River Danube. We found everything to be as described and as portrayed in the photos. Transportation from the airport to the apartment, was provided and was waiting for us as arranged with Tomas. He was at the apartment to greet us and go over how everything worked in the apartment, gave us some tips as to his favorite spots to eat out, as well as some places to see. Also tomas highlighted where we could get public transportation tickets and what kind we should get, to travel about Budapest easily.

He left us with a cell phone that we could use while we were there and even arranged to have time added to the phone so that we could make some local calls in Hungary. We also had the use of the internet phone, to call home to Canada, which was great as we had not spoken to our kids for two weeks at this point. Tomas was very thoughtful he had the satellite TV set so that we could watch english programs. He also checked in with us a couple of times to see how things were going.

We have already recommended his place to friends and will continue to, as Tomas is very hospitable and wants his guests to enjoy his place and this great city.

Thank You.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLP2918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Golden Stars Superior Budapest Apartment is an excellent choice for accommodation in Budapest: it's extremely well located in the main shopping district of Pest and nearby all the major attractions and transport; it's three floors up, so very quiet (although be aware there are a lot of steps and no elevator); it's beautifully decorated and spacious, and thoughtfully equipped with everything you could need, including a washer/dryer; and Tomas gives you a thoughtful and informative welcome, including maps and recommendations. It's also incredibly good value, far better value than a hotel suite - to get something comparable in a hotel would be 10 times as expensive. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There is a lot of steps to get to the room, so if you are mobility challenged this property will not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Maarten, Netherlands Antilles
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Golden Stars Apartment on Balassi Balint St. near Margaret Island for 5 nights at the end of June 2012. The apartment is in a great location with stops right outside the building for the tram to take you into the center of Budapest and also a tram stop right around the corner for a short trip to the subway station. There is also a great wine bar just downstairs, a pub, a gourmet grocery store down the street and many restaurants and bank around the corner. Tomas arranged for transportation to pick us up from the trains station and the diver was there as scheduled. He also arranged prompt transportation for us when we left as well. Tomas was waiting for us at the apartment to show us around the apartment, make sure we were comfortable and to introduce to the neighborhood with many suggestions. The apartment had everything we needed for a comfortable stay including an airconditioner which worked beautifully even during the record high temperatures during our stay. The wifi in the aparatment worked perfectly. The bed was comfortable and having the washing machine was very helpful. We loved Budapest and if we return we will stay in one of the Golden Stars Apartments. Perhaps we will try another one in a different location to explore another area of Budapest. Thank you, Tomas, for being such a good host.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This beautifully decorated apartment is absolutely fantastic! The unit is 1/2 block from the Vaci Utca, 1.5 blocks from the Metro and a few block to the Central Market Hall - a superb location in the heart of Pest. Tomas is a most gracious host and provides useful information on where to eat, what to see, how to get around, etc. We especially appreciated the (extra cost) service for being picked up at the airport and delivered to the doorstep of the apartment, and then the transfer back to the airport. Tomas has multiple apartments: the one we stayed at was the "Superior". This particular apartment is located on the 3rd floor with no elevator in the building. If you're in good physical shape, this is not problem. But if you have trouble with stairs, you might want to ask about one of his other units. This particular apartment is air conditioned and also has a combo clothes washer/dryer. No pool or fitness center; but the Gellert Baths is just across the river from the Central Market Hall on Tram 47 or 49.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at the Golden Stars Apartment in Budapest this past June 2012. The apartment is in the 5th floor ( there is elevator ) on a pedestrian street but in the corner to easily catch the tram line. The apartment was super quiet, and with those metal blinds, once you roll them down, it gets so dark that invite you to a forever sleep night. Tomas ( the apartment keeper ) was very helpful with all the information you need, from bars to local restaurants. He also book a shuttle to the airport at a very,very reasonable price. No complaints, this is by far one of the best apartments I have rented in Europe. And we will be back....

Room Tip: Get this! it is much better than staying at the Sofitel, Intercontinental or Marriot Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlejandroSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in the Royal Apartment for a week at the end of June, our first visit to Budapest. Short summary: we loved the apartment and we loved Budapest. Tomas was easy to deal with and was very helpful with lots of good suggestions for shopping, places to eat, and things to do. The apartment, which is in an excellent location for visitors, is on the fourth floor of a five-story building. And yes, there is an elevator. It was very spacious for the two of us, with very high ceilings, and is very nicely decorated and equipped (Tomas’s art hangs on the walls, and his wife is an interior decorator). The apartment has a small patio which we enjoyed for morning coffee and an evening glass of wine. We appreciated the wifi and the washing machine. We would very much like to return to Budapest and if we do, we will be sure to stay in one of the Golden Stars apartments.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John and Marily... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 334 in Budapest
978 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 334 in Budapest
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,743 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 334 in Budapest
2,408 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 334 in Budapest
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Stars Budapest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Stars Budapest Apartments

Property: Golden Stars Budapest Apartments
Address: Iranyi utca 21. | 5-th District, Budapest 1056, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 654 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Stars Budapest Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please use *E-mail Hotel* to check availability! --> Golden Stars Budapest Apartments are Deluxe apartments in the very heart of Budapest. Get the feel for old, aristocratic Budapest by enjoying your stay in these deluxe old-style, spacious apartments. Centrally located in the V district, with bars, restaurants and souvenir shops lining the street. Trams, buses and the metro are all a few minutes walk from the apartments and offers easy access to the rest of the City. Within a few minutes you can be at Lanchid (Chain bridge), Funicular Railway, Heroes Square or Parliament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Stars Budapest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Stars Budapest Apartments Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing