We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic place to stay”
Review of Aquamarina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aquamarina Hotel
Ranked #163 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for just one night, but it was enough to make a very good impression. We found the hotel very easy with our GPS and left the car right on the street that ends in front of the hotel, 30m away from the bridge that links the boat with the shore.
The room is clean and cosy, the only thing that we didn't like is that the window cannot be opened, so the air probably gets stuffy in the summertime. Bathroom equipment a little outdated but properly working. Also the carpets on the floor should be changed.
The personnel is helpful and they allowed us to have a good meal in the restaurant even if this is closed during the weekdays. But there was a group having a meeting and we ate what was already prepared for them.
Breakfast really good, with fresh vegetables, cheese, ham, jams, milk, coffee, tea, omlette, sausages, and oranges cut in half that one could use to make a nice fresh juice right there, on the spot.
Thank you for letting us stay with our dog, even though on booking.com it says that pets are not allowed. We payed 10 euro for the dog but anyway, it was cheap overall, considering that the room was 25 eur/night only.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristi_an3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 140 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Clean hotel, pleasent staff, but bad location. Overall, good value for your money. Hotel isnt 4*, it is 2+ but it was really nice time that we spent in it. Suprisingly all staff is well speaking english what isnt case in city centre

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmmmatija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I had forgotten about this place, Booked it a year or so back for myself and the son and daughter in law. If it was not for the fact that it was a little bit out of the way then this would be a really good place to stay. You have to walk for 10 mins to get to a bus stop but that does at least take you into the city. The staff were ok but when we got there in the evening there was a private party going on and we couldnt get a drink. They finally relented and said we could take them to our rooms. There is a resturant on the shore which was nice and we did eat on the boat as well which I have to say was really really good! Rooms were ok but the view over the river more then made up for any small flaws that we may have found. If you can get a good deal then I would say go for it. Just be carefull in the city as they will try and rip you off!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river and not the bank side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisKim22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Nice, clean rooms, although the windows dont open so they become very dingy and hot, as the air conditioning is crap and just lets mosquitos in....nice bathrooms though, clean water, good breakfast and dinner menu, friendly staff and close to a row of bars and restuarants. Close enough to the bus stop for the bus number 34 into town, and about a mile from the bus stop (923) that comes back from town during the night. The boat also stops right outside the hotel and that takes you to the centre of Budapest. Quiet, residential area with not a lot to see, so be prepared to venture out and about every day..

Room Tip: None really, all the rooms look the same and its pretty quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Aquamarina was difficult to find, especially at 11.30 pm at night on foot - not our wisest move but the area seemed pretty pleasant even at that time of night and we saw no trouble at all. The hotel was very basic - I would say a 3* if that. No tea and coffee making facilities in the room, which you tend to expect now but I do recognise that its not necessary normal in Europe yet to have tea and coffee facilities available in the room. It was basic, but as we were in Budapest to go to Sziget Festival it did the job for which it was booked for ie provided a nice place to sleep and shower.

The only 2 problems we experienced is the boats air conditioning system that cools down the boat, corridors, etc was extremely noisy - luckily its a constant noise so we managed to sleep through it once you got used to it, but others may find this completely unacceptable. The noise came out of the vents in the bathroom but even with the door shut it was still loud.

The other problem was that on the Saturday night the hotel hosted a wedding party, which we didn't have any problem with until the music was still going on at 3 am in the morning so loudly the pictures on our room wall were vibrating. At this point we did complain at reception who managed to talk the dj into turning the music down so that the pictures at least stopped vibrating. It eventually stopped around 4.30 am. I was not happy.

But all in all the breakfast was adequate, the rooms clean, it did the job.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the boat away from the function room and away from the loudest part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janiebobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I visited the hotel in March 2012 andit was... ok. The room was nice. Ac and TV with programmes in German. Transportation is good even at night. But... It's really far away from the center. The Internet worked terrible and the only way to use it was sitting near the door on the floor haha Nothing else worked. The breakfast was good. And what I didn't understand is... room service. May be it was supposed to be like that but the only thing they did is making beds. No vacuuming, no taking the trash all the time, no checking any presence of toilet paper (sorry for detailes). Yes, they chenged towels when I needed but anyway it's not really difficult to take the trash away from the room. They didn't knock.
It's a good experience for one time. And it's not expensive. But next time I will book a room in another hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marshutka52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

this hotel is just a new experience, low 3* but very good value for money. I am glad we tryed it, but would not like to go there again.
Nothing specific tro complian about, but as well, apart for the very original idea, there is nothing specific to prize.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rashela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Vitta Hotel Superior Budapest
#165 of 336 in Budapest
109 reviews
Óbuda-Békásmegyer
Alfa Art Hotel
Alfa Art Hotel
#198 of 336 in Budapest
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Inn By Radisson Budapest
#126 of 336 in Budapest
411 reviews
OnRiver Hotels - MS Maribelle
#100 of 336 in Budapest
103 reviews
Anna Hotel
#164 of 336 in Budapest
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquamarina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquamarina Hotel

Address: Rozgonyi Piroska utca port, Budapest 1031, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Óbuda-Békásmegyer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $50 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquamarina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boat can be found in the most beautiful green area of Budapest, on Római beach. On the boat hotel, which is located on the natural bank of the Danube River, our restaurant is looking forward to your visit! The rooms are air-conditioned, equipped with shower and bathroom, refrigerator, television, telephone, internet-access, hair dryer. Central safe deposit box is available at the reception. BKV boat service: BKV boats (which are part of the public transportation) depart from the entrance of the hotel and going to city center (Parliament, Margaret island etc.). Our guests can choose from a large variety of programs, from cycling and bathing to water ski. Sigths to see in the surroundings: Aquincum, Szentendre, Danube Bend with Visegrád and Esztergom. We are open all year round, looking forward to welcome you as guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Aquamarina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquamarina Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing