We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing goulash!”
Review of Kiado Pub

Kiado Pub
Ranked #290 of 3,160 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Terézváros
Description: Breakfast, goulash, lunch, dinner, lemonade, locals, bar, music, hosszulepes, local wines, beer, palinka, unicum, rum, shake, bar, chair, table and some more hundreds of objects, ingredients and spare parts.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing goulash!”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

This is a very cozy restaurant, next to one of budapest's main avenues! It has an amazing goulash and good prices! I recommend it!

Helpful?
Thank JDSalgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    98
    21
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best food we had during our holiday”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

I had been recommended to eat here by a local, and i'm so glad we did! It was quite difficult to find (the TripAdvisor address is correct but if you're using your phone's gps with the TripAdvisor app it will direct you to an empty building about 300metres away) but it was worth the searching! I had sausage with fried potatoes and my friend had spinach gnocchi, it was the best food we had on our 4 day trip to the city! The wine was excellent too. It's a lovely cosy pub with lovely staff, definitely a must-visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank J_Johnson1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best goulash soup ever!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Nice place I've been to several time during my stay in Budapest. Nice goulash soup and wine for reasonable prices. Really crowded at nights, but definitely worth to go. Highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RachelaZukerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great goulash”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This place was recommended by our free walking tour guide. The gulyas and hot ginger lemonade were just what we needed after a long tiring day. Very good value and tips are voluntary as they should be. We returned the following day for another meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Riverbank2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Much better than most of the nearby tourist traps”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Several visits over the past couple of years have only added to the lustre of this atmospheric bar/eatery. Good beer, fine lemonade in summer and high-quality food providing you know what to order.
Pork cutlet sandwich is excellent as well as the duck with roast potatoes and langos. Avoid the goat cheese salad unless you like it grilled and smoked (not mentioned on the menu).
Breakfast is also good and ridiculously reasonably priced but beware of asking for scrambled/poached eggs instead of fried/grilled; they won't do them, citing prior portion allocation (it's an egg, just tip it into a pan of water or whisk it up) which can chill the otherwise friendly (by Hungarian standards) service.
Be warned; this place gets incredibly busy with student-types, mostly ex-pats on short-term courses and tables are hard to come by.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loanheidyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiado Pub also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Kiado Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing