We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like inhaling cigarette smoke all night then this is your place!”
Review of Judit Apartments

Judit Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Judit Apartments
Ranked #426 of 658 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“If you like inhaling cigarette smoke all night then this is your place!”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I don't even know where to begin. I guess staying in the communist part of Budapest then you don't really have high expectations. I suppose though, you do have the basic expectation of cleanliness and some degree of comfort. There is a lift in this hotel. It fits one person and a bag. Please don't try to squeeze more in, you may become a crime scene.
The rooms are revolting. Do not be sucked in by the fair looking photos on websites, because they were clearly taken the day the joint was built.
The cigarette smoke just permiates through the walls, carpet, shower curtain, yellow dank pillows. This probably isn't helped by the cigarette smoking, stained singlet wearing dude behind the counter yelling at some weird lady who sits in the corner with a dog. The door handles/lock to the room needs an army to manouvre. My friend got electrocuted turning on the bathroom light then fell through the toilet seat. Avoid if you seriously want to enjoy your stay. But by all means, if you just watched 'hostel' feel like getting in the mood then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Truth000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    2
    1
    7
See reviews for
5
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napoli
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I absolutely recommend Judit Apartments. We paid about 10euro per night and we had an apartment with a double bed and a sofa-bed. Of course it wasn't that big (it was made up by a single room which worked as a bedroom, kitchen and living room) but the toilet was really good, ALWAYS HOT WATER (not so easy for 10€/night) and clean. The staff is really friendly and they will TRY, somehow, to speak english. It is 5 minutes walking from Lehel Ter tube station and 5 minutes walking from pubs such as the morrisons

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fleur_dumal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2011

i needed a small room with cooking facilities & a relatively cheep prices but when i entered the room i could have cried as i arrived at midnight was handed a moble by doorman,with 'my wife she speak english' she told me i was to have a 3 bed room for 3 nights them move to 2 bed room,i walked in....walls dirty with what looked like head prints on walls,bed linen, pillow & quilt smelt as if a workman had slept on it..it was a most alful smell, so to sleep on, i put the towels provided on top (these were grey & if you held them up to the light you could see through them)... i spent the next 7 hrs with lights on trying not to move & desperatly trying not to breath in the smell. tiny TV had only hungarian channels NO SAT TV as advertised, furniture old broken, curtins needed a good wash & the halls smelled of smoke with random men standing around smoking despite No Smoking signs..as a lone female traveler... i felt scared... which i have never felt when travelling alone before. I moved out the next day, but smell was in my hair & at my new room i took a well needed shower, but came down with an chest infection, due to not having a quilt on me all night, which ruined my trip to Budapest.....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notahappybunny32648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

haifa
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2010

lovely area and close to public transport. Walkable to river and main shopping center. Room was clean and comfortable. Free internet access in the room. The staff very kind and helpfull.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Haifa76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

This was the final stop of a 2 weeks wonderful trip in Europe and staying here for one single night was about to spoil everything... Dirty halls, dirty room, dirty sheets, there was an unhealthy smell all around. We've booked online for 50 euros per night, but at the arrival we were forced to pay 12 more euros for the third bed (which was a small one). The single plus is the position - in the middle of the city - but it doesn't worth ( you'd better stay farer but in better conditions). The receptionist was impolite. We will never come back.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConstantaConstanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2007

This is a very familiar, friendly hotel, very clean rooms, cheerfull staff. Nearby excellent restaurant, named Trófea, belongs to the hotel. Very recommended place, reasonable prices.

  • Liked — Staff, location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank grisomilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2007

The apartment was found on [--]. It was described as a small and comfortable appartment with a fully equiped kitchen. Reality is terrible. The hall and corridors of the building are dirty and there is a persistent odour of cigarette smoke (not in the apartment however). But it was really small. The fully equiped kitchen is a joke. All you have is a stove with 2 plates and micro wave oven. When you want to use the later one, your only option is to put it on the kitchen table and use an extension going over the sink to connect it. Ustensils were at the minimum for two persons: 2 knifes, 2 forks, 3 small spons and 3 cauldrons. Of course no coffee machine. The bed linen is in bad condition (over used) and feather bed cover is constituated of a strange synthetic product which irritates your skin when you sleep. The only positive aspects are it is relatively quiet and near groceries, metro station.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — Small and not much kitchen equipment
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GillesMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Gloria
#238 of 334 in Budapest
217 reviews
Gellert Hill
Hotel Mediterran
Hotel Mediterran
#88 of 334 in Budapest
541 reviews
Hotel Budapest
#164 of 334 in Budapest
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silver Hotel Budapest
#140 of 192 in Budapest
548 reviews
Belváros-Lipótváros
Full Moon Design Hostel Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judit Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judit Apartments

Property: Judit Apartments
Address: Victor Hugo utca 25-27, Budapest 1132, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #426 of 658 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Judit Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing