We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of Mandragora

Mandragora
Ranked #33 of 3,204 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: This restaurant was founded ten years ago. We have continously developped during years, always adopting our Guest's needs. At first our palce was operated like a club and we transformed it to a bistro style restaurant step by step whitout loosing the kind and welcoming atmosphere, what makes us very rare in these days. Our goal is if You visit us once, You will partake fascinating hospitality. So next time we can welcome You like a regular guest. We believe that hospitality only worth doing with soul!
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Very nice and cosy restaurant away from the hectic city life - but still easily accessible. They offer limited meal options, but I think everyone can find its favorites. You will get more than what you would expect and the service is really friendly as well. Try the terrace during the summer season - or indoor seated during winter, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trinity19812016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    130
    27
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden gem of a restaurant”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great food, just a little off the traditional. A very unassuming little restaurant in a quiet side street close to the Duna. If you go in the summer (we have, this was a third visit) it is well worth sitting out, to enjoy the atmosphere. They ask you to go inside after 11pm, to keep the noise for neighbours to the minimum...

I almost decided not to write a review, in case they get too popular and difficult to get in!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aakem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sticklepath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great recommendation”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Thanks to trip advisor we chose this restaurant close to our hotel. Great food, quince soup with cheese football unusual for starter. Excellent wine, but avoid quince schnapps!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GFM_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great food and service”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Very close to Hotel Regnum, small but charming restaurant with very nicely presented dishes. Our party tried many items from the menu, all were well received... wild meat stew, pork medallions, salmon, chicken - all good, with great desserts ( try the chocolate cake!).
Very reasonably priced, and our server was friendly, attentive and spoke excellent English. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank djdpearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We got the recommendation at the reception of the nearby Hotel Regnum where we stayed, so we decided to give it a try. You will notice that the decoration of the place has its specific charm, it's like you are in some dear ol' granny's dining room.

My wife and I had a really light dinner. I had a grilled salmon with a lemon rissoto and my wife had a tuna pate and it was absolutely fabulous. The service was also excellent, a charming fellow attended us and he was very polite and nice which is not usual in other restaurants in Budapest I attended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladimir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandragora also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Mandragora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing