We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Historic and Elegant Central Café - Centrál Kávéház”

Central Cafe and Restaurant 1887
Ranked #367 of 4,235 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $5 - $54
Cuisines: Hungarian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Respecting the traditions and being open to novelty. That describes Central Café the best. We are proud of our ancestors and we know the challenges of today. Rather than evoking the past we would like to revive the mentality that once made this place one of the intellectual centres of Budapest and one of the best historical cafe's in the world. And we want to achieve this with your help. We can only provide the "scenery", the delicate ambience, the delicious meals, the delightful desserts or refreshing drinks, the atmosphere is created by you. All of you who visit us for a cup of coffee in the morning, for a lunch at noon, for a glass of wine before going to the theater, for a light dinner after it or perhaps participate in one of our events as creative audience.
Reviewed May 7, 2017

The Central Café in Budapest's Old Town with its central location very close to Budapest's main street promenade Váci Utca, is a true jewel, and a café with a long tradition, reaching back to 1887, the year when the Central Café was established. This café has a distinct monarchist elegance, reminding of the old days of the Habsburg Monarchy, the Austrian-Hungarian Empire, and its aristocracy who met in this establishment to exchange their thoughts.

The classic music playing in the background is contributing to the fine atmosphere here in this Grand Café and so do the high ceilings, which are nicely decorated, as the Central Café is within a palais from 19th Century in the Austrian-Hungarian Monarchy.

The tarts are exquisite and the coffee as well, not only by the looks but also by the taste. I had a Cheese Cake with fruits and chocolate drops on top of it and a Caffé Latte with a cookie as well as a glass of water next to it. The tart as well as the coffee were delicious and the elegant interior contributed to this very fine experience.

From Budapest with Love!
Dr. Dr. Immanuel Fruhmann

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Immanuel_Fruhmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CentralCafe1887, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Central Cafe and Restaurant 1887, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Dear Immanuel! Thank you for your kind words, we are very happy to hear that we could exceed your expectations! We appreciate your long feedback that will certainly encourage other readers to visit us! We hope to welcome you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 403 of 1,780 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2017

We had a lovely dinner, with live dinner music, and a phenomenal dessert -- make sure to try the opera cake!

Date of visit: April 2017
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CentralCafe1887, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Central Cafe and Restaurant 1887, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Dear Jennifer! Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed live music and dinner!
Looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2017 via mobile

An excellent place to rest and get refreshed over coffee or meal in the centre of Budapest. Excellent historical setting, nicely preserved. A nice selection of coffees and desserts in line with the (austro) hungarian tradition.

Date of visit: April 2017
1  Thank elenik392
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CentralCafe1887, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Central Cafe and Restaurant 1887, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2017

Dear Eleni! Thank you for your nice feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere of Central Cafe! We hope to welcome you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2017 via mobile

The service is superlative in every way. All the cakes look amazing. The highlight was the signature coffee with almond liquor and the opera cake. It is not too expensive.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank G7867QRlaurab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CentralCafe1887, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Central Cafe and Restaurant 1887, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2017

Dear Laura! Thank you for your kind words, we are very happy to hear that we could exceed your expectations! We would be happy to welcome you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2017

The best coffee and hot chocolate in Budapest, excellent service, reasonable prices, cozy atmosphere and an easily accesible location.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
Thank michail57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CentralCafe1887, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Central Cafe and Restaurant 1887, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2017

Dear Guest! Thank you for your kind words, we are very happy to read that you enjoyed the drinks and service in Central Cafe and Restaurant! We would be happy to welcome you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Cafe and Restaurant 1887 also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Central Cafe and Restaurant 1887? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.