We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As it should be”

Central Cafe and Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 184 Dessert in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: Hungarian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Respecting the traditions and being open to novelty. That describes Central Café the best. We are proud of our ancestors and we know the challenges of today. Rather than evoking the past we would like to revive the mentality that once made this place one of the intellectual centres of Budapest. And we want to achieve this with your help. We can only provide the "scenery", the delicate ambience, the delicious meals, the delightful desserts or refreshing drinks, the atmosphere is created by you. All of you who visit us for a cup of coffee in the morning, for a lunch at noon, for a glass of wine before going to the theater, for a light dinner after it or perhaps participate in one of our events as creative audience.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

First customer of the day can have its risks. Not here...service friendly and very helpful...I took a picture of the cake I wanted and then got another. Both were yummy. The little merange drop with the coffee is a nice touch. Very nice experience, inspite of being a Monday morning in a huge construction zone

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jill_ATL57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihály B, Manager at Central Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Jill!

Thank you very much for your positive opinion. Warm thanks for estimate about our, coffee and food.

Faithfully yours
Mihaly Blasko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

530 - 534 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner with 14 friends. We dropped in with out reservations and had a great experience. The food was good but the service was great

Thank mbehjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien S, Manager at Central Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Sir! According to your letter I would like to thank you your review. Specially thanks for your opinion about the service. We work hard to lift the standard up every day and this kind of opinions are very important for us. We hope to see you soon! Faithfully yours Mihaly Blasko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Food is excellent, deserts even better. Very good, authentic, and reasonably priced Hungarian food. Great historical building.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lesliep528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien S, Manager at Central Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Leslie!
Thank you very much for your positive opinion.
Faithfully yours:
Mihaly Blasko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

we eat there twice because it was close to our hotel , they have a duck with wheat that was amazing and great clacks as well. one of them was Esterhazy.

Thank guy i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien S, Manager at Central Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Sir!
I was delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our service and dishes in Central Café. We work for this opinions here day by day. I hope you will visit us soon again!
Faithfully yours
Mihaly Blasko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

It is difficult to get there right now because they are building a metro (I think) and the access is terrible, the view is just as bad because all you can see are holes and netting. The food could not be worse and the waiters could not care less.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leini1153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien S, Manager at Central Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Our Guest!

I was shocked to read about your negative experience in our Café House. This is absolutely disallowable. I would prefer to ask you to send me the date when you visited us. We would like to investigate the case.
If you do not want to use this surface, please send it directly to: sales@centralkavehaz.hu

Thank you for your help!

Faithfully yours
Mihaly Blasko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Central Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing