We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food”
Review of Carne di Hall - CLOSED

Carne di Hall
Price range: $7 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: District I / Buda
Description: The American literature author John Steinbeck was told by his professor that he would be an author when pigs flew. When he eventually became a novelist, he started to print every book he wrote with the insignia: ‚Ad astra per alia porci“ (to the stars on the wings of a pig) to encourage his readers never to give up believing that nothing is impossible.We believe: in dreams and in the love of gastronomy there are no impossibilities! Enjoy our unique and innovative selection of delicious Hungarian fusion food only from the freshest and finest local ingredients! Taste our carefully selected Hungarian wines from award-winning cellars!
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Loved it, in a good locaion on the buda side of budapest. Good service and delicious hungarian food! We went after a long day of walking aroud the city and really enjoyed it.

Helpful?
Thank Madison M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    187
    66
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koenigstein, Germany
Level Contributor
179 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service at affordable cost”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The restaurant is located on the river front on the Buda side, about across the Parliament Building. Going down a few steps you enter a cosy, nicely decortaed place. The waiter spoke perfect German and English. He recommended what he obviously liked most and hit our tastes perfectly. The cuisine is "Modern Hungarian" with an excellent presentation. Wines are from all over Hungary, again at affordable prices.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Profigast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning Menu”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Wow! A stunning menu, Hungarian with an "a la carte twist"! The staff were really nice and helpful, good service, very, very tasty food. Well worth the walk across the Chain Bridge and down the Buda side of the Danube.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AYule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice small place to eat and taste Hungarian wine ”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

What is the best. The atmosphere, the staff.The place is not to big, perfect for romantic dinner or tasting wines.
The staff was outstanding doing their job as they should.
The meals very tasty and served in an ingenious way.
Funny story behind the restaurant name.

Helpful?
Thank Stanislaw S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Liking my food simple and basic, my wife has spent years trying to explain the finer details of fine cuisine, but contrasting flavours and textures sounded like a load of nonsense - until this evening.
Generous portions of piping hot, well cooked and well presented main courses began my conversion. When it came to the sweet, who would have thought pineapple, coconut and beetroot would work together but it was unbelievable. How about poppy seed pancake (I think) with prunes, kumquat, and salty caramel sauce and what I can only describe as foam! I now understand what my wife has been talking about-I've seen the light!
Sited between the parilament building and the chain bridge, but on the Buda (opposite) side of the river, it is less convenient to get to than what seems to be the more touristy Pest side, but make the effort to get there and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carne di Hall also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing