We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere, good food let down only by abrupt service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TG Italiano

TG Italiano
Ranked #186 of 3,044 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $108
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good food let down only by abrupt service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We visited Budapest during a spell of very good weather. TG is busy both with those waiting on tables at the bar sipping cocktails and lively groups meeting in what seems a very popular venue. There was a constant line of people wishing to book a table and willing to go on a wait list.

The outdoor seating area was all fully reserved by obvious regulars. The food is good but not amazing. I can't say I noticed the music being too loud - a very good pianist just added to the atmosphere. The only negative was the waiting staff. Yes, it's a busy place but they seem either stressed out or peeved by the number of enthusiastic diners. Service is automatically added to your bill even on a table of two. Maybe if they smiled a bit more and were a bit more attentive a good service tip would be justified.

That said, I would recommend it - pre book if you can and hopefully you'll be greeted by friendly waiting staff!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SiobhanandCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    506
    177
    86
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun and lively downtown bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

A good find for lunch, dinner, or just drinks in downtown Budapest. Beautiful bistro, brew pub environment. The pizzas are great! Moderately priced too

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LVonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great lunch in a terrific atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I had lunch here on our last day in Budapest. She had a terrific potato soup followed by a very good Arrabiatte pasta (needed a little more spice). I had an excellent broth with pasta followed by terrific calamari. The restaurant is perfectly placed for people watching.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very tasty meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a great meal here. Food was very fresh, well presented and cooked beautifully. I had home made spaghetti with fresh tuna and OH had calamari. The place was always busy.
Waiter was a bit grumpy but efficient, front of house girl was nice and pleasant but I felt she let the place down by wearing jeans. This sounds a bit OTT I know but it just didn't seem to fit with the whole ambience of the restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank regalsnipe2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had lunch at this restaurant with a shared starter of eggplant mille feuille. It came with a basket of three different types of bread and was delicious. We followed with simple pasta mains that were perfect. My wife had the tagliatelle bolognaise and I had the pasta arrabbiata. Both of the pastas were home made and cooked perfectly i.e. al dente. Having lived in Italy for more than 10 years it is hard to find genuine Italian cooking outside of Italia. This was washed down with a beer, a montalcino rosso, a bottle of water and two café macchiati. The service was professional, the décor tasteful and the atmosphere relaxed. Total cost was €50, which is at the upper end for here in Budapest... but what the hey? Highly recommended for a bit of quality and class and to watch the world go by.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chaddy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TG Italiano also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to TG Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing