We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden away, but well worth the effort!”

The Mongolian Barbacue
Ranked #1,147 of 3,090 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Asian, Barbecue, European, Hungarian, Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Hidden away, but well worth the effort!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Went here on a recommendation from a friend who visited Budapest four years ago. Mongolian BBQ is located in Pest very much off the beaten tourist track, but easy to locate using info on Trip Advisor. Lots of variety, including some fantastically different meats (we sampled about ten in total), all you can eat and even better, drink, from house wines, beers, and soft drinks. We paid 4990 huf for this, and it was well worth it. Attentive, polite waiters too.

Helpful?
Thank terri_havill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    38
    9
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had dinner in this restaurant last year and I found out that the Mongolian cuisine is quite interesting. It was my first time in such a restaurant and I like it a lot ( I enjoyed the fact that you get to choose the various food and preparates you're going to eat before they are prepared/ cooked). We also tried some wine which was pretty good.The place is very nice, the serving was good and the food was tasty.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rozina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
71 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Just so many choices of traditional Hungarian dishes or choose your meats and have it grilled in front of you.
The layout is nice as you can sit outdoors and be covered without worrying about rain...or go indoors. The drinks and desserts were also great.
There is something for everyone..so you won't leave hungry.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Humidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent buffet restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've been 3-times here and this is a very good buffet restaurant. There are wide variety of salads, appetizers, soups, main courses, desserts.
You can choose inside, or outside tables to sit.
Prices: mo - thu lunch time: 3.890 HUF, mo - thu dinner time: 4.990 HUF, weekend and holidays: 4.990 HUF. All you can eat and drink for these prices.
They have some special offers and deals, for example: mo - fri the 3-course lunch menu is only 990 HUF.
They have live music every Saturday evening.
The best way to get here by taxi or local bus.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CsillaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meat feast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Unreal amount of food for the price. All you can eat and drink, cooked freshly on the hot plate in front of you. What more could you want?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Reyndiggity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mongolian Barbacue also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to The Mongolian Barbacue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing